Post a screenshot of your Desktop

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,817
Reaction score
3,460
Credits
35,095
No need for the 10 after windows either.
Code:
neofetch --ascii_distro windows
produces the same ascii art
I looked it up in the man page, there it specifically states windows7 and windows10 separately, seems they have not updated the man-page but good to know. Cheers!

P.S About your signature I dislike miners because they are the cause of these extreme prices with graphics cards now days so hopefully you aren't hosting a mining farm.
 


Mastabruce

New Member
Joined
Oct 3, 2019
Messages
28
Reaction score
17
Credits
18
I looked it up in the man page, there it specifically states windows7 and windows10 separately, seems they have not updated the man-page but good to know. Cheers!

P.S About your signature I dislike miners because they are the cause of these extreme prices with graphics cards now days so hopefully you aren't hosting a mining farm.
No farm, Graphics card prices are dropping as supply comes back to normal. EIP1559 will also slow down the grabbing of cards. Luckily for you i've only purchased used 8GB cards for my mining purposes ;) I haven't gone near an RTX card for mining.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,817
Reaction score
3,460
Credits
35,095
No farm, Graphics card prices are dropping as supply comes back to normal. EIP1559 will also slow down the grabbing of cards. Luckily for you i've only purchased used 8GB cards for my mining purposes ;) I haven't gone near an RTX card for mining.
Good to know you aren't hosting a farm but doing it for yourself. I jumped ship from team Green to team Red with my last graphics card. I'm afraid though that the prices will never go back to normal since the mid-range cards are still near $700-800, when I bought mine at launch it was over $1000.
 
Last edited:

craigevil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2021
Messages
373
Reaction score
369
Credits
2,580
my current desktop:
Screenshot at 2021-08-30 18-07-28.png
 

TheProf

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 15, 2021
Messages
272
Reaction score
268
Credits
2,574
Are you using X11 or Wayland with KDE Plasma? I experimented on a vm with different DE's this last weekend and I couldn't get used to having a full DE again. I guess Sway and i3wm have got me hooked because my work flow feels easier because I don't have to manage my own windows, as well as easily being able to configure key-binds for my most used applications.

I've managed to find to the fix for the login issue with Wayland + nvidia in Manjaro, not sure if it's the same fix on other distros with KDE (Didnt have to do this in Fedora on gnome or KDE).

To fix the issue, you have to add the nvidia-drm.modeset=1 kernel paramter. After a reboot, I can login with no issues.

I've tested it a bit, and it is similar to the issues I was experiencing in Fedora.

I am not sure if its nvidia ready yet... even though technically it should be. X11 seems more stable with less bugs, at least on my system that is, cant speak for others.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
6,490
Reaction score
5,741
Credits
52,206
RHEL [Running] - Oracle VM VirtualBox_001.png


Xfce running on a RHEL VM. It's just the stock look, inasmuch as you can have a 'stock look' for Xfce on RHEL. It's not too difficult to get installed, but it's not supported and not in the default RHEL repos. EPEL will get you started.

Why? I'm thinking about using RHEL as a workstation OS on a box and I really, really dislike GNOME.
 

LiLiu

New Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2021
Messages
11
Reaction score
20
Credits
82
I am a die-hard Linux User, but I appreciate the UI / UX style of Mac OS X, and thus the latest round of customizations of my KDE Desktop on my school laptop, spurned by wanting to create a theme that better suited the silver-black colors of it.

Screenshot_20210901_150350 (Shareable).png
 
Last edited:

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,332
Reaction score
6,218
Credits
25,138
Just a tip to some of the above Members (not you, @LiLiu )

Please do remember the Thread Title is

Post a screenshot of your Desktop

There is a lot of Off Topic content here, and while the content of the posts contain some valuable information, that info would better serve our community in structured Threads elsewhere, not here.

TIA folks, and enjoy your Linux.

Chris
 

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,869
Reaction score
1,937
Credits
17,775
I distro hopped again, this time to endeavourOS, wanted to give it a try before diving into Arch. Here's the latest desktop.


View attachment 10226
its a nice Distro ,backward compatible with Arch repo's
has its own knowledge base on their web site. One feature which I think is really great for the 3rd world is that you can install "offline" . With wget etc you can patiently construct a valid iso; so thats where Endeavour comes in. Then when the interent is good you can choose to update. Whats tricky in the 3rd world is when you need a chunky download with good bandwidth which Vanilla Arch requires, during the install process.

Unless your pedantic, some might say , actually your pretty much on Arch with EndevourOS.
 

captain-sensible

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jun 14, 2019
Messages
2,869
Reaction score
1,937
Credits
17,775
I distro hopped again, this time to endeavourOS, wanted to give it a try before diving into Arch. Here's the latest desktop.


View attachment 10226
I installed endeavourOS while sub Sahara , never had chance to check. I'm guessing if you check /etc/pacman.d/mirrorlist there will be one entry which fetches from specific endeavourOS repo
 

alkion

Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2019
Messages
92
Reaction score
54
Credits
75
My Debian:

 

dcbrown73

Well-Known Member
Joined
Jul 14, 2021
Messages
365
Reaction score
338
Credits
3,224
So, now that I actually have a Linux desktop. I shall show more than just my cli.

Here is the desktop.

TDNF74.jpg


I'm still fighting with the color scheme in my IDE though. The theme + color scheme are a bit of a mismatch, but I'm still working on it. I like dark themes with decently high contrast, but I absolutely hate the extreme contrast of the HIGH CONSTRAST theme / color scheme.

I actually used to really enjoy the old Borland Turbo C++ theme (dark blue) from back in the day even though it was in what look like a DOS IDE hah.

Anyhow, here is my CLion IDE. I don't care much for the dull gray theme. As noted, the color scheme isn't bad, but the dull gray and purple clash a bit.

Yx712h.jpg
 

LorenDB

Well-Known Member
Joined
May 12, 2020
Messages
380
Reaction score
298
Credits
2,619
So, now that I actually have a Linux desktop. I shall show more than just my cli.

Here is the desktop.

TDNF74.jpg


I'm still fighting with the color scheme in my IDE though. The theme + color scheme are a bit of a mismatch, but I'm still working on it. I like dark themes with decently high contrast, but I absolutely hate the extreme contrast of the HIGH CONSTRAST theme / color scheme.

I actually used to really enjoy the old Borland Turbo C++ theme (dark blue) from back in the day even though it was in what look like a DOS IDE hah.

Anyhow, here is my CLion IDE. I don't care much for the dull gray theme. As noted, the color scheme isn't bad, but the dull gray and purple clash a bit.

Yx712h.jpg
I agree that CLion looks bad; otherwise, I think it looks awesome! If it was my desktop, I'd want larger margins around those icons in the tray, though. But it's yours, not mine :)
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Top