Is It Worthwhile Saving Timeshift Snapshots To An External Device?

bob466

Reaction score
Credits
That's what I was thinking the other day...so I did a little experiment as I've never done this before.

I Formatted a Portable 2TB External HDD to EXT4...changed Timeshift to create a Snapshot on the External HDD which took for ever...
1707455382960.png

I then created another Snapshot which also took a long time...as shown on the live session...
1707455614744.png

I then restored a Snapshot which took quite some time compared to restoring a Snapshot from Drive itself...
1707455897623.png

When restoring a Snapshot from an External Drive...Timeshift seems to think about it...then does a trial run...then starts restoring it as I found out...all this takes much longer than restoring a Snapshot from the same Drive...not to mention Timeshift has only backed up and restored system files only.
m09002.gif

So the only advantage I can see is saving a little space on the Drive...nothing else...I know others won't agree but that's my opinion. For the time it takes to put a Timeshift Snapshot on an External HDD/SSD it would be much better to create an Image with Foxclone or Redorescue and store it on an External HDD/SSD...by doing this...everything is backed up...I set Timeshift to save a Snapshot to the same Drive which doesn't take long...something to think about.
m1213.gif

0cd7RxV.gif

(Wizard appears in a puff of smoke, attracted by the word "Timeshift")

Bob, if you had a bet on with a Bookie on whether Wizard would swing by to a thread like this, he'd only have given you short odds, eh, Mate? ;)

For starters,
...not to mention Timeshift has only backed up and restored system files only.
m09002.gif

is because of the settings you have on it.

If you, and any other of The Viewers, take a read of

Timeshift Settings Options

you'll see 3 screenshots.

The 1st is the default

The 2nd is the one I advise Users to consider

The 3rd is the one that I use.