Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

I am new here and new in Linux.

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by xD1G0x, Jul 6, 2018.

  1. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hello, it's me, xD1G0x,
    I am new in Forums and in Linux too. I don't have any Linux OS yet, but I'm thinking about having one. So, I have a question for you: Can I run Linux on my Laptop and which one? I know, you can't answer to this question until I post information about my Computer. So here it is:

    Processor: Genuine Intel(R) CPU T2400 @ 1.83GHz, 1833 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 2 Logical Processor(s)
    RAM: 4,00 GB (2,99 GB usable)
    System Type: 32-Bit X86-based PC
    BIOS Version/Date: LENOVO 79ETC9WW (2.09), 2006.12.22
    SMBIOS Version: 2.4
    DirectX Version: DirectX 11
    Graphic information:
    Name: Mobile Intel(R) 945 Express Chipset Family
    Manufacturer: Intel Corporation
    Chip Type: Intel(R) GMA 950
    DAC Type: Internal
    Approx. Total Memory: 256 MB
    OpenGL version: 1.4

    Computer: LENOVO
    Version: T60

    I think that's all I need to provide to you to get answer.



    My correct OS: Windows 7 32-Bit

    But I still want to get Linux.

    Waiting for response, xD1G0x
     
  2. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Hi @xD1G0x, and welcome! This link confirms that your CPU is 32-bit only, and that is your main limiting factor. Many of the Linux distros are now turning away from further 32-bit development, but there are still some very fine systems available that may work well on your computer.

    The best thing to do is try some out and see what you like. I would suggest a couple to start with... Linux Mint 19 (with the MATE or XFCE desktop) and Peppermint OS 9. These are both available in 32-bit versions. You will need to download the .iso file and "burn the image" to a DVD or USB flash drive that you can boot on.

    Your computer may be too old to boot from USB, and you may only have a CD drive and not a DVD... but if both of these situations are true, there is still a way to boot Linux that we can explain if needed.

    There are a few other distros that we can recommend too. But just to get started now and learn the first steps to boot and install any Linux should keep you busy for awhile.

    Cheers
     
    wizardfromoz and xD1G0x like this.
  3. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    Hi, it's me, xD1G0x, can I run first on VirtualBox those version to test them?
    And thank you for fast reply.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  4. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Yes, they should work in VirtualBox... just be careful with how much RAM you give you them. That is a great way to test them out too! :D
     
    wizardfromoz and xD1G0x like this.
  5. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
  6. arochester

    arochester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    308
    Your laptop does not support PAE.

    There are various leads on the Linux Mint site. One says
    Source - https://www.linuxmint.com/rel_tara_cinnamon.php

    There is also
    Source - https://sites.google.com/site/easylinuxtipsproject/mint#TOC-Processor-without-PAE-support-
     
    wizardfromoz, xD1G0x and atanere like this.
  7. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
  8. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
  9. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    It looks like you're doing the steps correctly, so it is surprising that it is not working. If you are able to burn the .iso image to a DVD or USB and boot on it, I would try that now.

    Your problem may be with VirtualBox. Maybe it has a setting to allow PAE, but I am not familiar with such a setting.
     
    wizardfromoz and xD1G0x like this.
  10. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    Oh, yea, I saw it in settings, let me test it quick
     
    wizardfromoz and atanere like this.
  11. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
  12. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Well, that's a bummer. There may be ways to tweak VirtualBox to work with Mint, but there may also be some incompatibility that makes it impossible.

    And this is all about why people need to try out different versions.... sometimes some of them won't work, while others seem to work just fine.

    I think i would move forward from here and start trying some others. You may have to "force PAE" with other distros too, so that is still a good lesson learned from @arochester!

    If you can't get anything to work at all in VirtualBox, then you will have to try DVD or USB booting. That still may work.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  13. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    What do you mean? Like to put ISO file to disk [burn] and reboot my PC, change boot settings to boot from disk or something else?
     
  14. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Yes, that is it exactly. But to "burn" is a special setting for DVD... not just "copy" or else it will not boot the computer. It must be DVD because CD is too small.

    When you boot Linux on DVD, you are running in "live mode" and you do not have to install it, but you can if you want. It runs a little slow on DVD, but is good to test your hardware that everything works.
     
    wizardfromoz and xD1G0x like this.
  15. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    I don't know how exactly bunt to DVD...
     
  16. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    I'm at work and can't search too well from my phone. Windows 7 does not always have the right software, but there are free programs that will let you do this... the task is usually called "burn image" and the Linux .iso is an image file.

    But let's be sure... you have a DVD-RW drive and not CD-RW. And do you have some blank DVD's?

    I will try to find a program for you.
     
  17. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    I don't have DVD disk yet, but I will buy it later. And I guess I have DVD driver:
    MATSHIBA DVD-RAM UJ-842 ATA Device
     
  18. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
  19. atanere

    atanere Moderator
    Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2017
    Messages:
    1,596
    Likes Received:
    1,643
    Is that an internal DVD drive? Or external?
     
  20. xD1G0x

    xD1G0x Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2018
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    29
    Internal, I guess, IDK actually
     

Share This Page