• We did not send an email asking for donations - please read this post.

Firewall turns itself off....(SOLVED).

SeanK

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
82
Reaction score
56
Credits
435
Running Arch derivative EndeavourOS. Have noticed the firewall keeps turning itself off. Have run sudo ufw enable and
sudo ufw status which states its "active" but then I check on it again, a couple of log off/in's later and its off, again.

Anyone else experienced this?
 


wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,783
Reaction score
6,608
Credits
28,627
Now how did you teach it to do that?

Kidding.

I have Endeavour, so I'll take a look on my tomorrow.

If we get stuck, the developer is a Member here, and we can ask.

Wizard
 

Bartman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2022
Messages
625
Reaction score
535
Credits
4,376
Running Arch derivative EndeavourOS. Have noticed the firewall keeps turning itself off. Have run sudo ufw enable and
sudo ufw status which states its "active" but then I check on it again, a couple of log off/in's later and its off, again.

Anyone else experienced this?

Have a read.
 

Bartman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2022
Messages
625
Reaction score
535
Credits
4,376
I don't remember what it comes with by default I just posted what the OP ask about.

I believe earlier version used UFW/GUFW.

I'm using GUFW but installed mine awhile back.

According to this Firewalld is installed as default.

New features and fixes on the installed system:

  • FirewallD is enabled – Each Apollo installation has FirewallD already installed and enabled after install.


 
Last edited:
OP
S

SeanK

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
82
Reaction score
56
Credits
435
I don't remember what it comes with by default I just posted what the OP ask about.

I believe earlier version used UFW/GUFW.

I'm using GUFW but installed mine awhile back.

According to this Firewalld is installed as default.

New features and fixes on the installed system:

  • FirewallD is enabled – Each Apollo installation has FirewallD already installed and enabled after install.


This is the problem with distro hopping, everyone does things a little differently. Hey thanks, I'll take a look and see what the story is.
 
OP
S

SeanK

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
82
Reaction score
56
Credits
435
I believe Endeavour uses firewalld not ufw
To enable the firewalld service
Code:
sudo systemctl enable --now firewalld.service
GUI is available as firewall-config which comes with firewalld package.
Hey many thanks. Its already installed and hopefully working. More complex than what I am used to? Not sure how to check its status, I'll do a read up there.
 
OP
S

SeanK

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
82
Reaction score
56
Credits
435
Now how did you teach it to do that?

Kidding.

I have Endeavour, so I'll take a look on my tomorrow.

If we get stuck, the developer is a Member here, and we can ask.

Wizard
All solved, thanks again to everyone for their kind help. This is what happens when you change distro's....LOL.
 
OP
S

SeanK

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
82
Reaction score
56
Credits
435
Now how did you teach it to do that?

Kidding.

I have Endeavour, so I'll take a look on my tomorrow.

If we get stuck, the developer is a Member here, and we can ask.

Wizard
Is there some way to close off the thread and mark it solved? Ignore that question, sorted.
 

Bartman

Well-Known Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2022
Messages
625
Reaction score
535
Credits
4,376
Hey many thanks. Its already installed and hopefully working. More complex than what I am used to? Not sure how to check its status, I'll do a read up there.
This should explain what you need to know.

Generally installed firewalls are set to Default settings which usually are enough or have always been for my use.
 

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Jul 23, 2020
Messages
7,349
Reaction score
6,333
Credits
59,574
Is there some way to close off the thread and mark it solved? Ignore that question, sorted.

Adding the (solved) bit is adequate. We don't close threads, as a general rule.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
4,946
Reaction score
3,591
Credits
36,038
Just for your(@SeanK) information, it's Linux you don't have to use what's installed by default of any distribution. You can remove firewalld and install ufw if you prefer to use that, you have choice of what you want to use.
 
OP
S

SeanK

Member
Joined
Mar 18, 2020
Messages
82
Reaction score
56
Credits
435
Just for your(@SeanK) information, it's Linux you don't have to use what's installed by default of any distribution. You can remove firewalld and install ufw if you prefer to use that, you have choice of what you want to use.
Thanks. I'm not too fussed, just so long as it works. I am more familiar with UFW as most of my laptops are LMDE. Only one is Arch.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Linux.org Hosting Donations
Consider making a donation

Members online


Top