An article about being a newbie...

KGIII

Super Moderator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Reaction score
Credits
I've never felt very welcome at any Windows forum.

For better or worse, that's what it's like at most forums. There are some exceptions and I'd like to think we're one of them.

I recently dove into Linux headfirst.

I own linux-tips.us (which you'll see referenced here with some regularity).

As a brand new Linux user, you could do me a favor - but only if you're up to it. (I noticed you like to write.)

You could write an article for the site, specifically titled, "What It's Like To Be A New Linux User".

You could aim for 600 to 1200 words.

See, I can't write such an article. I no longer remember what it's like, plus I have some Unix in my background. For me, moving to Linux as soon as I realistically could was just the natural progression.

For better or worse, that's what it's like at most forums. There are some exceptions and I'd like to think we're one of them.

This DEFINITELY one of those forums.
(I noticed you like to write.)

Actually, I have a problem with rambling! The people here put up with it, another reason this such a great forum.
It's worse in person. I always say I can carry on a conversation with anyone. I can do both sides of the talking and you don't even have to present for it to happen!
I have to be mindful of this. When I see a certain look on peoples I know I gone too far again, I need to stop RIGHT NOW. It's obvious what they're thinking. "When is she going to shut up long enough for me to make a polite exit? If she doesn't stop soon, I'm just going to have to turn and walk away while she's still carrying on".

Be glad this a forum, it's all in writing. You don't have to wait me for to stop! When I'm typing, I review what I wrote to cut out at least some of my rambling. Sometimes I forget though. Thank god someone always tells me I'm getting off topic and if necessary they delete my post!