Need to find a good Linux distro

T4B

Reaction score
Credits
hey, im new to Linux i need to install Linux for my Toshiba satellite c50-a491 (daily drive) any distro recommendations?

i had installed Ubuntu on my desktop once but the os got broken (a few years ago that time I don't know anything about Linux commands) so I need a stable one to do things like browse the web, play Minecraft,use discord,teamspeak

I heard Debian is good but some say Debian uses old software packages. Does that mean I don't get any updates?

i had installed Ubuntu on my desktop once but the os got broken
what may help in a situation like that is having a backup plan in place before things get broken. linux mint is often recommended for new users. i have been using linux for a few years and use it so it isn't just for beginners. there is a version that is based on debian called linux mint debian edition. mint also comes with a program called Timeshift preinstalled that can be helpful for backup purposes.

can i use linux mint on this device ?

Intel Core i3-3110M (3 MB cache) 2.40 GHz
4 Gb DDR3 1600MHz
200 gb ssd
LED backlight 1366x768

and can upgrade if Linux Mint releases any update. like updating Windows. without breaking the system

linux mint has a few different choices for Desktop Environments (de's). the MATE and Xfce de's usually use fewer resources (like ram and cpu) than the standard Cinnamon desktop. i believe linux mint debian edition only comes with the Cinnamon desktop.

one way to get an idea about how it may or may not work on your specific system is to create a live usb and give it a try. running off of the usb will be slower than a full installation to your internal hard drive, but you could use that to compare different distros or different desktop environments.

mint comes with a graphical update manager that should alert you when you have updates and allow you to install them fairly easily.