Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. Follow us on twitter - we shoot all of our new original content out as well as random messages. https://twitter.com/linuxdotorg
    Dismiss Notice

New to Linux - Need Guidance

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by olds442, Dec 2, 2018.

  1. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    G'day Olds, looks like I may have just missed you. Happy New Year :)


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)


    Congrats on the Win 7 reinstall. Do you have Linux Mint 19.1still on the separate hard drive, or is that yet to come?

    If not, then a question on Win 7 audio is probably out of our realm, technically. If however, you have Mint, or install it, and the problem is duplicated there, then it can be our baby.

    On Win 7, I found, before I ditched the (Win)Dozer in 2014, that this Forum was very good.

    https://www.sevenforums.com/

    Their people were kind and helpful, and I just checked and they are still going strong.

    You can start a new Thread on any Linux audio problems here - https://www.linux.org/forums/linux-audio-video.147/ - and title it something like Linux Mint 19.1 Audio Card Not working.

    PAUSE - getting up to speed as you have just Posted :D

    Listened to the recording - the distorted voice is actually an echo of your voice, by the sounds of it. Or rather, maybe it is repeating what you have said.

    Sorry I can't help further.

    Keep us posted

    Chris
     
  2. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok, maybe I should look to Linux to see if I can replicate the problem. I have Linux Mint 19.1 Cinnamon, latest version. I just don't have it installed yet. It would seem that I would need to have this installed, and use something like Wine to install the voice programs i need, not to mention getting the audio program going. I can go that route, but I will need help to do it. If the problem occurs then, maybe we can figure it out. BTW, thanks for the link to the seven forums. I'll check it out.
     
  3. Tolkem

    Tolkem Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    30
    Hi! Since you chose Mint maybe consider registering in their forum https://forums.linuxmint.com/ so you can post whatever issues you may encounter and/or clarify any doubts you may have regarding your Linux OS. Also, I'd recommend rufus https://rufus.ie/ to write the Mint .iso into the USB stick.
     
  4. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok, how do I get to the settings where I can test the mic in Linux Mint, and what do I need to do when I get in there? I tried to work with it awhile ago, but I can't find out how to test the mic. I found something in a search about Alsa, but I don't think I have that.
     
  5. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    G'day @Tolkem and welcome to linux.org :)

    @olds442 already has a stick burned with LM 19.1 on it, but thanks for the suggestion. :D

    @olds442

    Olds,

    You do.

    Boot from your stick, do not choose the install option, stick with where you are on the Desktop.

    Go to Menu bottom left corner, start to type in (without the quotes) "synaptic", this will show you Synaptic Package Manager, which you will make friends with over time.

    Launch Synaptic, and in the (magnifying glass) part that says Search type in and enter alsa. Alsa is the Advanced Linux Sound Architecture. It and PulseAudio are the two leaders in this area.

    Results will be shown, if you scroll down through them, the entries that have the little square blocked in colour are what will be installed. There will be a number of them.

    Likewise, a search of pulseaudio will generate similar. So check those two out.

    I am by no means an audio expert, so hopefully someone else will pick up the ball and run with it, with you, on what checks to make.

    Cheers for now

    Wizard
     
  6. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thanks for the help! I'll give that a try this evening. I'm going to talk to one of our computer techs at work about this issue. Hopefully they can point me in the right direction. I'll keep you posted.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  7. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    I had a conversation with our tech, and let him listen to the audio, without the voice. He said it sounds like a bus issue, on the board. I don't know if these are tied into the same circuit or not, but I think I am going to try to switch slots, if I can get the card to seat. Worth a shot.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  8. Tolkem

    Tolkem Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    30
    Oh, I see. :) Since he said in a previous post that it wasn't installed yet I thought he hadn't written it in the USB. Thanks for the welcoming. Arch user here with awesome-wm and xfce altogether.
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  9. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    I went in to look for Alsa on Linux Mint, and found the entries. They look like they are already installed, however. If they are, how do I get to these applications to use them?
     
  10. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    A little beyond my paygrade, Mate, but I will watch and learn. :)

    Wiz
     
  11. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Is there a gui or command in Mint to open up Alsa? As I said, I can see the entries listed as installed, but I don't know how to run them.
     
  12. Condobloke

    Condobloke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    682
    Are you looking for something like this ?

    [​IMG]
     
  13. Tolkem

    Tolkem Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2019
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    30
    From the command line
    Code:
    $ alsamixer
    I think mint should have the volume control on the panel/taskbar, isn't it? If not, try writing in the terminal
    Code:
    $ pavucontrol
    and/or open the menu and type it in the search bar to see if it shows up.

    Hope this helps! :)
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  14. Condobloke

    Condobloke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    682
    Go to menu.....click on it....then 'software manager' (type it in or click on the icon)......type in alsa

    The result will be what you see above....you can install it.....if it works...good !....if it doesnt uninstall it from the same software manager page that you installed it on.

    In software manager, type in 'pavu' .....

    [​IMG]

    One of these may help ??

    In Terminal....type in alsamixer ??
     
  15. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Thank you! I will give those a try!
     
  16. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    Ok, I have been through the various commands, and I am not getting the results you show. Not sure what I am doing wrong. Here is a screenshot.

    upload_2019-1-10_20-59-36.png


    As you can see, my screens don't look like yours. I did try the terminal, but didn't have much better luck. I would like to know how to get the microphone to work so I can do some testing.
    What am I doing wrong?
     

    Attached Files:

  17. Condobloke

    Condobloke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    682
    gnome alsa mixer is already installed on your pc.

    Click on 'Launch'.....up beside the Remove button
     
  18. olds442

    olds442 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2018
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    29
    I did hit launch, and this is what I got. Could it be because I am still running off of the USB drive, and not on a hard drive? I'll try again tomorrow.
     
  19. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125
    Yes, the three (3) windows with greyed out headers are the outcome of that.

    Running alsamixer from Terminal leads to something like this, for me

    [​IMG]

    The F1 and F2 keys do not work for me, as they are pre-mapped by my manufacturer to other functions.

    Wiz
     
  20. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,545
    Likes Received:
    2,125

Share This Page