Is this the correct place for a you tube problem question ?

2gangvc

Reaction score
Credits
You tube has ceased to function , all i get is the header and a bunch of grey squares where the pictorial selections should be .
The loading progress circle spins around but then hangs up, it was working perfectly the previous day ???.
Can anyone help please .
Using the old version of Linux mint 19.3 Tricia , is it perhaps a support problem ?.

G'day, Welcome to Linux org

Your problem could be at least partially related to the fact that 19.3 reached end of life for both active support and also security updates in early 2023

Thanks for replies people, that thought had crossed my mind about out of date release.
Ok point taken, next question , where do i go for the latest mint release and can it be done through the terminal with minimal hassle ?. I need some way points here please as i,m not really up on computers just all self taught !

try freetube: https://freetubeapp.io/

it uses https://invidious.io/ to watch yt while respecting your privacy.

its basically a desktop yt client that uses a proxy to watch yt. you can subscribe and all that. you dont need a google account. I use it every day and really like it.

So doesnt come with comments sections then ?, is that restricted to YT only.

I think it can view comments, but without the google account, and of course with using the freetube client, you cant comment. I think you have to enable that in settings. I'm not sure. I dont think I ever looked at comments, or commented on a yt video myself.
I found it / use it because I wanted a privacy friendly option for yt.

And yes, that is a yt client basically. You can tell it to use individuous api in the settings, or to use the "local backend", which is their weird way of saying query youtube directly.

Been using FreeTube for nearly a decade, ever since the very first release. I, too, like it.