I can't install Linux on my laptop

Woody728

Reaction score
Credits
Hello. I have a new laptop and want to install Linux and dual boot with Windows 11. I tried installing Ubuntu 22.04 with a bootable USB but that didn't work. I could see the contents of the USB when I inserted it into my other laptop which already has Ubuntu 22.04, but when I inserted it on Windows 11 it wouldn't display the contents and said 'you need to format the disk before you can use it' and then that the drive's file system is not recognised. I then tried burning Manjaro onto a DVD and installing it but that didn't work either. I have managed to get up to the initial boot screen (the one where it gives you option to set the date and keyboard layout). I have tried selecting both 'boot with open source drivers' and 'boot with proprietary drivers' but neither of these options work. The screen goes blank then I am brought back to the screen with the options. Please note that I am not a software expert, so please post any replies in plain English.

Hi Woody. I'm rather new at this myself but some things to look at that I know of are, from what I've read are,
Make sure secure boot and fast boot are off in the machines bios settings. And, I think, check the EUFI settings there too.
I can't tell you what they should be set at, but I've read they matter.
Good luck!