• I've looked through the repository under "System" in the Software Manager
  • Search terms
    • Disable device
      • No search results
    • Device
      • A lot of results
      • I don't think I know enough Linux speak to
        • Filter the results
        • Understand exactly what the software manager does.

I'm sure this can probably done from the terminal. I'm a serious newbie! If there is a program that will help me do this it would be nice.

Can you give an example of the devices you wish to disable?

Can you give an example of the devices you wish to disable?
The integrated camera and microphone.

To avoid rambling on like I do, I'll tell you why if you ask!

In your sound settings, look in your system tray near the clock, you can disable the microphone.

That's the easy one...

This is old and for Ubuntu - but may work for Mint:

There's a quick and easy way in the very first answer provided. You could try that.

Before proceeding, now's a good time to ensure you have backups and that you know how to restore from said backups - as well as ensuring the validity of the backups.

Before proceeding, now's a good time to ensure you have backups and that you know how to restore from said backups - as well as ensuring the validity of the backups.

I've been taking snapshots in Timeshift immediately after every update. For now, they are stored on the internal HDD. (Having issues with the tower, and then there's the things I don't know yet, like how to restore..)

I think I'll wait on disabling things until I'm a little further along.

Thank you!

you can also check your BIOS some have the ability to turn off stuff - the mic can be disabled through pavucontrol

1.png

The OP is likely a little confused with the reference to BIOS being locked with involving Legacy.

Sherri, although you are using UEFI/GPT on your Lenovo, there is still a utility that you can get into at startup which we still call BIOS.

From your inxi -xxxz output, you are using