Hello Everyone

MrFrankVegas

Reaction score
Credits
Good Afternoon :)

I have been using Linux in some variation since about 2008, I was introduced to it in a college server admin class (specifically for web devs), and decided to give it a shot on my daily driver machine, I remember it being a nightmare, especially getting the touch-screen and wireless working; and there were always tons of issues. Plus I had to run a Windows VM anyway, because some of the school's apps were Windows-only LOL. So I kind of gave up on daily driving it, and mainly used it on all of my servers (I am a web developer, mainly PHP, as well as front-end and JS stuff). As a server OS my Linux experience has been amazing, both on my personal servers as well as on my production machines, so lightweight and stable, plus I am extremely familiar with the OS, system files, config, and terminal so managing Linux servers has always been a breeze.

As for recently, I have been watching the forums and such and noticed that it looks like gaming on Linux is on the rise, thanks to programs like Proton, so I decided to give it a try on my gaming machine, I have been kind of blown away at how easy it has become to set everything up, configure everything and get gaming, I was set up with everything in just a couple hours, with proton games and native games ready to go on my machine. No fighting with configs, or Windows drivers that needed to be modified, most of it was natively supported. LOL :) I am really excited for this development, with the way things have been going on Windows (in terms of security, privacy, and bad releases) I am very encouraged by the advancements made as of late. I am really looking forward to daily-driving a Linux machine again.

That being said, I will still have my MBP as my work machine, I have to have Photoshop and Premier, and I really just need a solid machine that works all the time LOL.

Really looking forward to talking with everyone and getting more into Linux,