Solved Having trouble installing Linux Mint

Solved issue

attacking_sharks

Reaction score
Credits
Hello all, I am pretty new to Linux in general, and have been working the last couple of days to try and get a dual-boot with Windows working. I have tried to run both Linux Mint and Kubuntu, and both had the same technical problems, in that I am completely unable to connect to the Wifi, it just does not appear as an option, and I am unable to get my primary monitor to connect. While my second vertical monitor connects but has problems with the desktop unless I completely disconnect my primary monitor.

So, system specs:
AMD Ryzen 5 2600
Nvidia RTX 3070
Gigabyte B450 Aorus Elite
Wifi card is (I believe) a TP-Link Archer 6e

The monitor I am having trouble with is a Gigabyte M34WQ, which is a 3440x1440 ultrawide. It just does not want to put up a connection from either distro I have tried to install.

I have gotten some errors related to SPROM as well if that helps.

I have an idea of how to fix it, to somehow update the drivers for both my graphics card and for my wifi card, but I am unsure of how to do that if I cannot connect to the internet in the first place. Also for what it's worth, TP-Link does not have Linux drivers on their website (that I could find), so is the issue that my network adapter just isn't compatible?

I appreciate any and all help, thank you.

In relation to the wifi, what is the chipset of the TP-Link Archer 6e? It looks like it's a PCI-E adapter, so run the following command in a terminal:
Code:
lspci -v
and extract and show the full output of the wifi card.

The steps basically are to identify the chipset of the wifi card, find a driver and install it. If the driver is not in the kernel modules, and it sounds like yours isn't (or presumably it would have been loaded and working), then the driver is likely somewhere on github.