Get folders into Betterbird from Thunderbird

truckerDave

Reaction score
Credits
Hello all,

I'm a newb on Mint and I've been trying a few email clients lately. I installed Thunderbird and added my age old email account at Gmail. The program did it's job and downloaded copies of 9+ years of emails. The majority are work related and I marked them read and moved them into folders to keep organized.

After a few days using the program, I decided I didn't care for Thunderbird's layout and changed to Betterbird. I find it's more like what I'm accustomed to looking at which makes it easier for me to read and find things.

The problem I have is that, when asked to if I wanted to import stuff from Thunderbird, it instantly fails.

How can I get my folders switched over? Or .... How can I force Betterbird to re-GET all 9 years of emails? Or .... Is this a Gmail issue?

Thanks in advance!

PS: I've removed both programs. I've purged both programs. I've reinstalled both programs. Multiple times. Not sure what files either keeps the emails/configuration/etc in. But I do know those locations don't get removed as I have only entered my account info once. And TB still has my added folders with the emails in them.

You're likely using IMAP. So, those folders you created are also created on the server. Those emails you moved were also moved on the server.

You should be able to just manually add your account to the new email client and things should be the same as they are in the other email client.

If this is not true, you're likely using local folders and not using IMAP. It should schedule a sync and grab all that older email. You may need to do something like manually tell those folders to sync, assuming they're appearing.

If this is not true, you're likely using local folders and not using IMAP.
Yup. Not knowing the difference, I opted for local folders.
You may need to do something like manually tell those folders to sync, assuming they're appearing.