Distro advice

edumat

Reaction score
Credits
Hello, a friend of mine gave me an almost new laptop but it's a little weak an i install a linux distribution a few days ago.
I choose linux mint which has what i need for daily use, but even so the laptop is a little slow and unresposive.
The laptop is a hp stream 14, dual core celeron n3060 with grafic card integrated, 4gb ram and 32gb emmc
is there any better distro for this laptop?
i'm a beginner but i can solve some problems if they arise.

Thanks

Welcome to the forums,
your halfway there ..you managed to install a distribution, now it may be a bit heavy for that particular lappy, so we need to see its full specifications to advise you,
so please open a terminal [black icon on left of task bar with $_] and type in inxi -Fnxz [inxispace-Fnxz]
and copy/paste the results back here

Bwiz

Hello Edumat,
Welcome to the Forum.
As brickwizzard said it may be a little bit low end for mint Cinnamon, but th XFCE Desktop version may be a better fit.
It sound like it may have been a chromebook the 32gb emmc is not very big for a full linux install.

System:
Kernel: 5.4.0-90-generic x86_64 bits: 64 compiler: gcc v: 9.3.0
Desktop: Cinnamon 5.0.7 Distro: Linux Mint 20.2 Uma
base: Ubuntu 20.04 focal
Machine:
Type: Laptop System: HP product: HP Stream Laptop 14-ax0XX
v: Type1ProductConfigId serial: <filter>
Mobo: HP model: 82BD v: 11.20 serial: <filter> UEFI [Legacy]: Insyde
v: F.21 date: 04/26/2017
Battery:
ID-1: BAT0 charge: 38.2 Wh condition: 41.6/41.6 Wh (100%)
model: Hewlett-Packard Primary status: Discharging
CPU:
Topology: Dual Core model: Intel Celeron N3060 bits: 64 type: MCP
arch: Airmont rev: 4 L2 cache: 1024 KiB
flags: lm nx pae sse sse2 sse3 sse4_1 sse4_2 ssse3 vmx bogomips: 6400
Speed: 480 MHz min/max: 480/2480 MHz Core speeds (MHz): 1: 480 2: 489
Graphics:
Device-1: Intel Atom/Celeron/Pentium Processor x5-E8000/J3xxx/N3xxx
Integrated Graphics
vendor: Hewlett-Packard driver: i915 v: kernel bus ID: 00:02.0