Can't open USB devices - "pl2303 ttyUSB7: failed to submit interrupt urb: -28"

evs

Reaction score
Credits
Hello,

My name is Everett Sykes. I'm a developer at Western Telematic, Inc. (WTI). My company developed a custom board based on the Beaglebone Black (AM3352). I've recently upgraded to the v5.4 kernel. I've also recently added USB host support to the board. I'm having a problem not being able to open some of the USB devices attached to the USB host ports.

Physical Configuration:
I have a 4-port internal USB hub connected to the USB bus. I'm exposing two USB host connectors from ports 1 and 2 of the internal hub. I typically connect a 4-port USB hub to each of these two host connectors, for a total of 8 possible ports. Then I connect USB devices to these ports. The "lsusb -t" output is shown below:

root@192:/dev# lsusb -t
/: Bus 02.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=musb-hdrc/1p, 480M
|__ Port 1: Dev 2, If 0, Class=, Driver=hub/4p, 480M
|__ Port 1: Dev 3, If 0, Class=, Driver=hub/4p, 480M
|__ Port 4: Dev 10, If 0, Class=, Driver=pl2303, 12M
|__ Port 2: Dev 7, If 0, Class=, Driver=ftdi_sio, 12M
|__ Port 3: Dev 9, If 0, Class=, Driver=pl2303, 12M
|__ Port 1: Dev 5, If 0, Class=, Driver=pl2303, 12M
|__ Port 2: Dev 4, If 0, Class=, Driver=hub/4p, 480M
|__ Port 1: Dev 13, If 1, Class=, Driver=cdc_acm, 480M
|__ Port 1: Dev 13, If 0, Class=, Driver=cdc_acm, 480M
|__ Port 2: Dev 11, If 0, Class=, Driver=pl2303, 12M
|__ Port 3: Dev 6, If 0, Class=, Driver=ftdi_sio, 12M
|__ Port 4: Dev 8, If 0, Class=, Driver=pl2303, 12M
/: Bus 01.Port 1: Dev 1, Class=root_hub, Driver=musb-hdrc/1p, 480M