Solved Black display

Solved issue

Papipio

Reaction score
Credits
Bonjour,

I was using Mageia 8, everything was OK. I upgraded to Mageia 9: now, when I start my PC I get a black display with only the mouse cursor ! I from the Mageia forum I understand that the problem comes form NVidia graphic driver which is not compatible with Mageia 9 !!!

Is this a general problem for all Linux distributions ? Which distributions do not have this problem ?

Pierre

i dont think Linux and NVidia generally play well with eatch other. i do know that Mint has drivers that worked with my NVidia GPU.

G'day Papipio, Welcome to Linux.org

I have zero knowledge re Mageia, but rest assured someone here will have some help for you.

This forum spreads across the world and its members will therefore come online at different times.

Be patient.

In the meantime, may I ask....Did you perform a fresh install?.....or was there an upgrade routine via mageia 8

This is not a general problem for all Linux distributions, although graphics cards do have their fair share of compatibility problems.

I have just read the opening page of mageias', and noticed that they have a mageia control Centre, where, among other things, you can browse and configure hardware.
That may be an avenue for you to peruse.
Also I note that it comes with kernel 6.4.9
If there is another kernel available it may be worth a switch ....becasue the graphics card drivers will be included in the kernel

In most Linux distributions, there. is a Driver Manager included.....usually accessed via the menu

A look in that area may also help. If you were to find such, it may search for and find a more suitable driver

I hope this helps in some way. Mageia looks to be quite a polished distro....impressive.

I will load Mageia 9 to a usb stick and take a closer look, later in my day. it is early morning here in Australia