Solved VLC wont play DVD's

Solved issue

FatDroid

Reaction score
Credits
Ive downloaded VLC to play DVDs on this old laptop running Arch KDE, but it wont play video at all. Ive gone through the setup after installing, making sure /dev/sr0 is selected and also tried with /dev/cdrom - but all I get is the timestamp at the bottom flashing up at 00:00 for a second, the scrub bar thing moving left to right and then it reverts back to as it is when opened.
Ive uninstalled & reinstalled multiple times, downloaded the addon/plugins for encrypted DVDs and the one for media with menus, but still I'm having no luck.

Ive tried multiple DVD's and even MPV player I think it was called, which is making me think it may be an issue with something else that is missing rather than VLC or MPV themselves but I'm really new to Arch, so I don't know if its user error or not, but any help would be appreciated.

I don't know what other information would be needed in this post sorry, but if it helps I'm installing through Konsole, not VLC's website or some other weird way of doing it.
Thanks

I'm not an Arch user, but you usually need things like codecs and software to play DVDs on your computer. In some cases, these are included by default - like Mint I believe does so, but it's considered non-free and some distros won't have it installed by default.

This being Arch, I'm going to guess that this is the case for you. So, I did a quick Google search and came away with this link:

That may be of assistance. As the moderator over there suggests, read the links.

I've read all that twice now, but I followed it again anyway and it solved the problem.
It seems, rather stupidly, that when I have been installing the things it needed, such as 'libdvdcss' this was reinstalling them. 'libdvdnav' on the other hand, didn't reinstall at all. I think the problem was DVD nav wasnt installed but I thought it was.

Apologies, going over that guide again should have been the first thing I tried.