Unable to mount or eject DVD+RW

UpNorth

Reaction score
Credits
I'm new to using a Linux OS. My computer specs are in my signature. Here is my latest issue.

I have a DVD+RW full of pictures that suddenly won't load. It's a brand new DVD. I recently stored the pics on there when I switched from Windows to Mint. It worked for a while. I was accessing it while experimenting with different photo software. Then I started getting errors that one of the folders wouldn't open. Now I can't get the DVD to load at all. It shows as "loading" indefinitely and there's no humming noise or anything. The computer eject button won't eject it. If I try to eject it from the icon on my desktop I get the error below. The only way I was even able to get the DVD out of the computer was by shutting down a few times until the tray opened.

The other DVDs load with no problems, so I don't think it's a hardware issue. Seems to just be this DVD. I'm worried because it has all my family and pet photos on it. If it's corrupted, are they gone forever?

Screenshot from 2024-02-01 19-56-04.png

Attachments

• Screenshot from 2024-02-01 19-56-04.png
    Screenshot from 2024-02-01 19-56-04.png
    15.5 KB · Views: 69

You may get better luck trying another DVD-ROM, perhaps in another machine. These units can be very sensitive to media. As soon as you get one to work, it might be wise to immediately back up all the data. In my case now I only use name brands for both media and the drive, after having the sort of problems you describe. Sometimes even name brands can fail, but it's much less in my experience than no-name brands and cheap media. YMMV.

An alternative is to rescue the data. That's possible by copying the dvd byte by byte to a hard drive with a program like dd, then using the testdisk and/or photrec programs, or some other rescue facility to hunt out and rescue the files.

G'day @UpNorth - what a dilemma.