Trying to Install Mint 21 Cinnamon from DVD on older HP Laptop - Black Screen After Selecting from Boot Menu

invaliduserid

Reaction score
Credits
I created a Mint 21 Cinnamon DVD and am attempting to Install on an old HP Pavilion dv9000 laptop that has an AMD TURION64 and an Nvidia GEFORCE GO 7150m Graphics Card.

After I boot from dvd, I see the screen that shows “GNU GRUB VERSION 2.06” at the top, and then the following options below it

Start Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64-bit
Start Linux Mint 21 Cinnamon 64-bit (compatibility mode)
OEM INSTALL (for manufacturers)
Test Memory

Regardless of which option I select (I have tried all) it just goes to a black screen with the cursor blinking in the upper left corner. I left it there thinking it was taking a while to load, but even after an hour it’s still the same.

I am a Linux noob and am trying to install so I can get started learning some of the basics. Is there any way to get this installed?

The laptop currently has Mint 8 installed on it but I can’t do anything and it doesn’t allow me to update anything i just get errors that server’s can’t be accessed.

Thanks all.

Did you try installing any else distro other than Mint?
Also, did you check the checksum of the downloaded iso?

The laptop currently has Mint 8 installed on it but I can’t do anything and it doesn’t allow me to update anything
Welcome to the forums,
Mint 8 reached its end of life in april 2011 there have been no updates since then
HP Pavilion dv9000 is a 2008 vintage machine, it may be usb bootable [this is the era where the change over started] you can find out by checking the BIOS settings,
there is a slim chance it may only have a 32bit motherboard, in which case you will need mintDE 32 bit [if you want to stick with mint]