System Crash

mikejb

Reaction score
Credits
Was running MX Linux without any issue for some time on a HP Elite Desk 800, which is a mini computer. Must have been hacked or a virus took over.

Initial problem was "TPM Not Enabled". The Bios (L04 v02.13)has no place to enable TPM.

Then on trying to reintall MX, and alternatively Mint, I get the following messages: ""No root file system is defined"; "No BFI Bootloader Found"; "Installer Crashed"; and there is no apparent partition, root or otherwise - seems they were wiped out.

Is this resolvable? Please note that while I have been using linux for a number of years and am reasonably proficient I am not a professional tech.

Thanks very much

Last edited:

G'day mike, Welcome to Linux.org

My initial guess is a failed hard drive. That is a guess. hard drive or SSD ?

Is this a dual boot...or just Linux on its own?

How did you go about reinstalling ?

G'day mike, Welcome to Linux.org

My initial guess is a failed hard drive. That is a guess. hard drive or SSD ?

Is this a dual boot...or just Linux on its own?

How did you go about reinstalling ?
Thank you for responding.

Hard drive, no dual boot, reinstalling from a disk via USB.

Afraid it might be that the drive failed. If so. Have to decide if it is worth replacing the drive . Probably not since a 2014 unit, presumably, since the Bios has a 2014 date

Thanks again

Mike

If in fact it is the drive...replace it with a SSD.

Because they have become more popular than the conventional hard drives...mainly because of the increased speed they give....their prices are now very reasonable.

I am not sure about your Elite Desk 800, but some mini pc's have the ability to simply remove a cover underneath the pc and pop one hard drive out and simply slide another one in.

We have members here (including myself) that have pc;s much older than 2014.

If everything else is ok, give it some thought.

EDit to ADD