[SOLVED] Deleted the Compose file at /usr/share/X11/locale/en_US.UTF-8

gabriel.ipc

Reaction score
Credits
Hey,

So, I am very new to Linux - in short, I installed Parrot OS.
Language is English and the keyboard layout is US international with dead keys (I need to type all sorts of accents and Latin characters).

Only problem - when I was typing '+c I kept getting "ć" instead of "ç". All other accents and characters and layout worked perfectly.
I started to dig the issue on the internet and then I decided to make changes in the file:

/usr/share/X11/locale/en_US.UTF-8/Compose\

Well, I kind of screwed it, hardly even knowing what I was doing to be honest.
I though, all right, I might just delete the file altogether and reboot, the system is probably going to see it is missing and recreate it all new.

$ rm -rf
$ reboot

Now I'm really screwed, the system didn´t add it back, and all dead keys, accents, Latin characters, I just cannot use any at all.
Well, digging the internet I tried:

$ sudo apt --reinstall install libx11-dev

no luck.

I even found this: https://www.x.org/releases/X11R7.7/doc/libX11/i18n/compose/en_US.UTF-8.html
I though, ah, fine, let's just copy it and create the file again:

$ nano Compose (in the correct directory)

Then ctrl+shit+v

saved, exited, reboot.

no luck again

I just thought, well, I might just reinstall the entire distro and give another try at solving the "ç" problem, it is just it felt kind of extreme and... kind of giving up hahaha

I am sorry for all the insane newbie thinking and messing around I did.

Any kind soul out there to help me get the compose file back?

Thank you all very very much!

If nobody else can help you, and reinstalling isn't in your cards for today...

Can you still switch to a new keyboard layout?