Microphone not working ZenBook Pro Duo UX582LR

cyph3r

Reaction score
Credits
I'm new to Linux and recently bought a ZenBook Pro Duo UX582LR. I'm running Zorin OS 16 Pro and having audio issues. The audio appears to be working. In settings you can see feedback from output meter and the input meter on the microphone but can't hear anything on the speakers. I found this thread https://www.linux.org/threads/solved-asus-zenbook-15-ux534f-realtek-hd-audio-problem.27384/ and the below commands work to get audio playing from the speaker but it causes the microphone to stop working. Any help would be appreciated.

sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x500 0x1b
sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x477 0x4a4b
sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x500 0xf
sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x477 0x74

I don't know if this will help you, It's from the Zorin

I'm new to Linux and recently bought a ZenBook Pro Duo UX582LR. I'm running Zorin OS 16 Pro and having audio issues. The audio appears to be working. In settings you can see feedback from output meter and the input meter on the microphone but can't hear anything on the speakers. I found this thread https://www.linux.org/threads/solved-asus-zenbook-15-ux534f-realtek-hd-audio-problem.27384/ and the below commands work to get audio playing from the speaker but it causes the microphone to stop working. Any help would be appreciated.

sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x500 0x1b
sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x477 0x4a4b
sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x500 0xf
sudo hda-verb /dev/snd/hwC0D0 0x20 0x477 0x74
The reason you have no output through your speakers is because there is no program linking the microphone input to any outputs.
You'll be able to monitor the levels in the sound options, to see what sort of levels your microphone is picking up, but you won't hear anything.