Linux Mint setup on my laptop

JohnJ

Reaction score
Credits
G'day all. I am a total newbie to Linux. I am very Windows savvy. My current Linux Mint setup is on a Windows 10 Laptop. My laptop has a 120gb ssd onboard plus a 2tb hard disk. I have a partitioned 500gb separate ssd connected via usb. Mint is installed on my 110gb partition. I have loaded and run Mint and I am using Grub to switch between Mint and Windows. All works great. I am very impressed with Linux and Mint and I am slowly getting my head around the different protocols, language and what not.
My master plan now is to (good grief) dump Windows completely on the laptop by getting hold of a ssd that I can Insert into my laptop. So sort of completely as I will have the old windows ssd in my bottom drawer. Not sure why I don't just override the Windows ssd with a fresh install of Mint but having the original Windows ssd in my bottom drawer just make me feel better on my Linux journey.
After all that preamble I think that here are my questions, and options.
1. Should I try to clone my 110gb partition on my 500glb separate connected ssd into whatever new ssd I install into the laptop? Maybe something called Foxclone can do this? If I go down this path, how will Grub handle all this or doesn't it matter because I will only have Mint installed on the laptop?
2. Should I not go down the clone path and just install a fresh version of Mint onto the new ssd?
Cheers
John

I guess it may depend on how much time you spent configuring the existing Linux Mint.....if it was a significant chunk of time, you may wish to avoid that and go the clone route.

On the other hand, I think at this juncture you will maybe benefit from doing a fresh install? Perhaps configure a few things a bit differently ?
Did I read correctly that Linux and windows occupy that same 120gb ssd ?....So that ssd can reside in the bottom drawer, more as a backups backup?........a JIC (just in case)