Linux crashing (Im a complete noob help)

TITAN

Reaction score
Credits
I believe the issue to be memory related, I do not know of a way to confirm memtest comes up clean.
I believe my crashes to be memory related due to the fact by changing a few memory settings, I got a change in behavior of the crash when it occurs.
Previously the machine would completely lock up requiring the plug to be pulled, being non responsive to the power button and anything else if you don't pull the plug it would stay frozen indefnitely.
Now with the changed setting the machine simply becomes unresponsive to mouse and keyboard but otherwise still running (it starts repeating the last key stroke too if you happen to have a text box selected when it starts to crumble) then it freezes. audio stops. then a minute or two later display turns off ie it looses signal. Then about 5 minutes later the machine itself shuts down peacefully.

I know hardware. not linux I dont know where to start on linux. Please help.

Welcome
nice story but lacking substance, what is the machine, which distribution are you having problems with, did you get any crash reports, what were you doing when it froze? Please give as much information as you can, we are not mind readers.

For when it crashes, It seems to have no ryme or reason. No particular task makes it happen sometimes ill be using it and it will pop off, sometimes it will go for a few days and nothing, or sometimes i might be in bed or something and just hear it power down after not being used for hours at that point.
For distro, Debian 10
Sub-distro Peppermint 10.

Hardware
E5-2690 v2
Mobo: https://www.asus.com/supportonly/rampage_iv_gene/helpdesk_knowledge/
Radeon VEGA 64 (The same issue occurs with a RX550 so its not because funny goofy vega)
Memory 4x8gb Kingston

This is all i know to say as of now, Im extremely like babies first computer level beginner as far as linux goes.

Attachments

• IMG_20230305_233639.jpg
    IMG_20230305_233639.jpg