I"m running Mint Tina, how do I change to Mint Cinnamon ?

RayIN

Reaction score
Credits
I'm new to Linux. My old HDD quit so I added a 1TB SSD. Instead or going back to Windows 10 I thought now is a good time to go to Linux OS. I already had an old CD with linux on it, so installed it. Then found out Tina is no longer supported, thus I want to install Cinnamon instead. How do I do that?

Thanks, I had downloaded it to my files on my computer. Well, I cannot find the USB drive on my computer, where would it be?

Last edited:
Welcome to the forums.

You have to "burn" the ISO file onto the USB drive. Note this is not the same as using the file manager to take the ISO and just dump it into the USB drive. Make sure you select a drive where you're not storing anything highly important, because the "burn" operation destroys all existing data on that drive! On Windows you could use Rufus, Balena Etcher or such other program. I had bad experiences with Rufus but I cannot recommend something else better, somebody else will here eventually.

If you could still get into your old Linux Mint then you could take the ISO (copied to a different disk normally) then use "dd" terminal command to "burn" into the USB disk.

The trick is to make that USB drive bootable and to make an image of an operating system ready to be used in live mode.

After that is done then you have to boot from that USB disk. It wouldn't do any good if your computer boots from the internal disk. You have to go into the BIOS settings of your computer and change the boot order of the devices. Put "USB" or "external" or "removable" disk first of all, and "internal" disk last of all with "network" disk, or any option that appears like that. Save changes to BIOS and then reboot with the USB drive plugged in.