I cant install Linux on my UEFI 32 bit laptop

Ketwol

Reaction score
Credits
Hello folks,

I recently decided to switch from Microsoft to linux for my laptop.
I tried to install ubuntu and mint, but both didn’t work.
The installation itself works, but the grub installation doesn’t.
The error message I receive is: “execution of grub install/dev/mmcblk1 failed. This is a fatal error.”

Now Ive been looking through the web and found out that cheap laptops have a 64 bit CPU but a 32 bit UEFI BIOS.
This is my very first time with Linux and I am a noob, so please forgive my simplistic interpretation.

i tried this guide here:

But I am stuck at step “startup using the USB disk and hack grub” because I can’t find the GRUB config and I can’t update Apt, because the command syntax tells me it doesn’t work.

Ive been trying to solve this problem for 2 weeks now and I’m desperate, cause I am all new to this.

Can Someone show me the way? The system is an ACER SPIN SP111-32N

Kind Regards
Jan

Welcome to the forums, what age is your acer and what CPU is fitted and what is the part number or full model number of the netbook

Last edited:
the words UEFI and 32bit seem incongruent to me , but what do i know?

Hello Jan,
Welcome to the Linux.org Forums.
I have no quick answer for you But I am sure someone here will be able to help.
In any event good to have you here.
After further searching I did find this old 2020 thread that may be of help. Good luck
32 bit UEFI

Last edited:

A bit old, but perhaps still relevant.

I would try a live version of a new Fedora and try "install".

i tried this guide here:
I would not call that a beginners guide,
until I know exactly what variant of netbook you have,