how can I avoid OOM and CPU running at maximum utilization

nesteiner

Reaction score
Credits
hey, guys, please forgive my poor english at first.
I am a noob programmer, so I usually write some dead loop code by accident, and then the cpu will run at maximum utilization, so that I can't control my desktop, including switch to tty, what can I do is to reboot it forcely.
and I found that when programming, the memory will decrease, so when I open some application which take large memory, the desktop stuck, even though I can switch to tty, it is very slow, I have to reboot it forcely.

though I have installed systemd-oomd, but I found that when the desktop stuck, the memory is close to full, so the systemd-oomd cannot detect it.

so many situations above, can you help me out ?

I'm not sure. We have a resident programmer or two, who might be able to help.

In the meantime, you could tell us your computer's specifications.

Though, I'm not sure how much that matters. After all, people have been successfully programming on even the oldest and slowest hardware.

OOM is typically for "Out Of Memory" and doesn't help much with CPU.

In the past I have opened two or three console windows at the same time.
I have top running in one before I start my problem code.
That way I can see the process ID (it's usually the top one)

Then in the third console, I can either "nice" or "kill" my process if necessary.

hey, guys, please forgive my poor english at first.
I am a noob programmer, so I usually write some dead loop code by accident, and then the cpu will run at maximum utilization, so that I can't control my desktop, including switch to tty, what can I do is to reboot it forcely.
and I found that when programming, the memory will decrease, so when I open some application which take large memory, the desktop stuck, even though I can switch to tty, it is very slow, I have to reboot it forcely.