Hello, there.

Sophia_R

Reaction score
Credits
Hi, I am Sophia. I want to learn more about this website. I am an editor on Wikipedia and many game-related wikis (cough, cough Inkipedia cough). I enjoy playing musical instruments and just sitting on the floor and blasting music while I edit. I hope my username isn't too personally revealing because I didn't feel like using my Wiki username. Hah, anyways, nice to meet you guys. I will say, I'm not too sure what I can contribute, but I will try. :)

G'day @Sophia_R and welcome to linux.org :)

I am from Australia, most of our Members are from USA but we also have Members from the UK, New Zealand, Europe and all over the place.

The site is about providing community help for people using GNU/Linux, which is an Operating System alternative to Windows and Macintosh and so on.

Have a browse around.

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

G'day Sophia, Welcome to Linux.org...from another Australian

Ar you currently running any Linux OS ?

From my perspective, (user for approx 9 years, Linux Mint exclusively) a great deal can be learned simply by perusing the site...following 'how to install' topics and the like.

Give some thought to 'burning' a linux mint .iso file to a thumb drive and thereby making a bootable thumb drive.....with this you can boot your pc/laptop and get a "live" version running .....and get some idea of just how it looks/works/what it has/doesnt have etc etc.......and of course by doing so you will come to understand/mpre closely follow what the various members are talking about.

Doing this will not harm your current OS.

((DO NOT...double click on 'install linux mint' which you will find on the desktop of the "live" version.

Read the above link......it is a good link to get an idea of how it installs as a 'Live" version...without full installation

The link below can answer virtually any question you have. Try it.

Or, failing all of the above, just talk to the people here. They are friendly to a fault. :)