echo PATH

wumiyeye

Reaction score
Credits
Good day,
I am new to Linux. I just created and downloaded exe files to my computer.
The files are located in: /usr/local/bin/XDS-INTEL64_Linux_x86_64
I wish to use echo PATH command to make the files accessible. Kindly guide me in the simplest language how to go about this.
Thank you.

Telling us the distro and version might help.

And what does the Terminal command

Code:
echo $PATH

reveal?

Wizard

Welcome to the Linux Org forums

We are an un-associated, Independent advice a site for those in need of help with installation problems, those wanting a deeper understanding of Linux and Tech's needing more advanced advice,
We are a voluntary organisation our members are scattered across the four corners of the world and every time zone, so please accept that you may not get a quick answer.

Just a few things to remember
We are an international board so we ask that all post be in English [if you think your English is not very good , fine give it a try or use one of the translator programs [ DeepL Translate: The world's most accurate translator is recommended]
When asking for help
Please state the make and model number of your machine or its specification [some problems may be equipment specific]
Please tell us which distribution and build number you are having problems with [example Ubuntu 18.1]
Explain what your problem is and what [if anything] you have tried to remedy it yourself

Finally Linux is not Windows, It will require the newcomer to invest a little time and effort going through a learning curve so please don’t give up, kick off your shoes, grab a drink and enjoy the ride.

Bwiz

Re: /usr/local/bin

this is what i have in usr/local/bin

Code:
[andrew@darkstar:~]$ ls /usr/local/bin                            (06-28 10:12)
composer*  speedtest*
[andrew@darkstar:~]$                                              (06-28 10:12)