Documents Folder Moved

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
Is the Documents Folder supposed to be under the Trash & SDXC folders, if not how do I move it back above them?

Screenshot from 2018-07-06 13-11-38.png
 


wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
6,118
Credits
24,208
Hi Eddie Paul

Remind us which version of Ubuntu, and is that screenshot from the left side of your Files Manager or if not where?

Cheers

Wizard
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
Ubuntu 18.04 LTS. It's on the left side of Files Manager.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
6,118
Credits
24,208
Just heading there now, Mate. I'll take a look see from there (realise you may be sleeping if you are US)

Wiz
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
6,118
Credits
24,208
This is what mine looks like

jXPnesA.png


... so have you done something recently, with Preferences or other, that might change the order?

Not invading your privacy, but let us know in general terms.

Cheers

Wizard

Edit - sorry, that was 16.04, back with 18.04
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
6,118
Credits
24,208
TPHAWgp.png


Better

Wizard
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
My Ubuntu 18.04 looks like Wizard's, and I wasn't able last night to figure out how it can be changed... but you must have found a way Eddie! :D

I'll try more later but I'm working this weekend and have little extra time.

Cheers
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
I haven't figured out how it might of got changed, can you guys figure it out?
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
6,118
Credits
24,208
Sadly I can't at this point Eddie :( You may have to put up with it for a while, as long as it still functions properly in that order.

I have commitments to some other folks and some other projects that will keep me busy for a week or two, but sometimes an idea will pop into my head, even when asleep, and I will go straight to the computer and say "I know what happened", and quite often be right.

If that occurs with this, I will come back to it when the idea is fresh.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
Sadly I can't at this point Eddie :( You may have to put up with it for a while, as long as it still functions properly in that order.

I have commitments to some other folks and some other projects that will keep me busy for a week or two, but sometimes an idea will pop into my head, even when asleep, and I will go straight to the computer and say "I know what happened", and quite often be right.

If that occurs with this, I will come back to it when the idea is fresh.

Cheers

Chris Turner
wizardfromoz

Okay
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Oops, I thought I had it.... but after looking more carefully I saw that my problem and fix was not the same. Sorry.

I'll look again a little more as time allows. I'm not sure how you deleted the upper link to Documents... the original one that was there. But I was able to create a lower link, like your photo shows. Back to the drawing board....

Cheers
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
Thanks but that didn't work for me but I decided to use the Templates folder for my Documents instead.
 

wizardfromoz

Administrator
Staff member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Apr 30, 2017
Messages
7,207
Reaction score
6,118
Credits
24,208
What happens when you point and click at/on Documents, Eddie Paul, does it show you an error,if so, what?

hrqlE76.png


Wizard
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
What happens when you point and click at/on Documents, Eddie Paul, does it show you an error,if so, what?

hrqlE76.png


Wizard
It doesn't show an error, it just puts it like it's shown above unless I delete the folder w/out removing the bookmark.
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
The icon on your image is not the same as the original icon... it is more of a folder icon. In the post that I deleted I had managed to get one that looked like yours. You could probably right-click on it and Remove it (if it's empty), but that will not restore your original.
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
I did happen to delete that folder. I'm using Templates as it's replacement.
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Can you give us another screenshot? Click on Home at the top of the left sidebar, and show us the full screenshot that shows what folders are available in the right side pane too. Thanks.
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
Screenshot from 2018-07-09 19-17-18.png
 

atanere

Well-Known Member
Joined
Apr 6, 2017
Messages
2,627
Reaction score
2,766
Credits
31
Yes, you have removed the "Documents" folder that was originally on the right, under the Home folder with all those others. You could create a new one and probably get it back on the left sidebar menu... at the bottom, like the one that you deleted there too. But I still can't find how to restore the original link that was up near the top of the left sidebar.

I don't find Ubuntu/Gnome very easy to work with, but maybe it's just me. A "new feature" in this latest edition (on laptops) is that the right-click context menu is often not available... instead you have to "two-finger tap" on the touchpad to get that context menu. What?!?!? This is about as brilliant as when they moved the minimize/maximize/close buttons to the left corner of the window instead of the right corner... where everyone in the world expects to find it. Sorry, Eddie.... just venting a little frustration, but not at you. :eek::D

Not sure if I will be able to help with this one. Maybe Wizard will have better luck.

Cheers
 
OP
Eddie Paul Litz

Eddie Paul Litz

Active Member
Joined
Apr 30, 2018
Messages
295
Reaction score
56
Credits
607
Okay, I'll wait on him then.
 
$100 Digital Ocean Credit
Get a free VM to test out Linux!

Staff online

Members online


Latest posts

Top