Do you consider monetizing your expertise?

mmaximov

Reaction score
Credits
I work as a Linux Sys Admin for a trading company, I have base + bonuses, so I'm doing pretty well. But I'm thinking of creating content, courses, anything along these lines... Did you ever consider doing this? If yes, what were you doing? If no - why?

It's just becoming obvious to me - people reach out for "free help" constantly... Why do not start making some extra cash out of it?
Any input would be appreciated!, whether you have thoughts, or just making up :)

Thank you! have a good one everyone!

I'm the author/owner of https://linux-tips.us and write a new article every other day.

It's a lot like work, but it's nice to give back to the community. There is some ad revenue but don't count on it being all that much. I can count all the donations on a single hand. Still, I keep on keeping on. It doesn't really make me any money, quite the opposite actually.

Thank you for sharing here! It's a great site tbh! And it looks like you're staying consistent for years with that! Kudos

And it looks like you're staying consistent for years with that!

It's not easy but I probably learn more than my readers do. So, it has its benefits.

I get regular offers to post sponsored content, but I ignore most of those. If I did, the site would definitely be making a profit. I let one through and felt bad - and Google knocked me for a couple of months. I now realize why and how to avoid that, but I still ignore the requests.

I am entertaining one company's request as they appear easy enough to work with. They even allow me to mark the article as a sponsored article. That makes it much better in my eyes.

I believe Linux is a community of people who help one another and there should never be a monetary price attached to it.
m100.gif

Like our moderator, KGIII, I too write articles for our Linux Community.

I have considered making courses and teaching people how to install Linux on there pc's.