Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

Adding ext4 Partition to /etc/fstab File.....? :3

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by blackneos940, Oct 3, 2018.

  1. blackneos940

    blackneos940 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    78
    As the question describes, I wanna add my Kali Linux Partition to Manjaro's fstab File, so that it automounts on Login..... :3 How is this accomplished.....? :3 Good GOD, that Stromboli made me full..... :p Thanks for any help guys..... :3


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)

     
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    Hi Blackie, you could have shared some of the stromboli with me :(

    Whatcha looking to do exactly?

    Do you want to be able to access Kali files from MJRO? Read/write? Just have the access from Terminal, but not from the File Manager?

    Do you want an icon for it on your Manjaro desktop for quick access?

    Spill it out.

    Also, tell us -

    Which Manjaro, DE and all eg GNOME, KDE or Xfce, or Community spins such as Cinnamon, Budgie, &c?

    Do you have to have it done via /etc/fstab or by a GUI means?

    I can cover both with you.

    Cheers

    Chris
     
    blackneos940 likes this.
  3. blackneos940

    blackneos940 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    78
    Hey, you know if I lived near you I would have shared it with you..... :3 As far as what I'm looking to do..... I wanna have fstab Mount the Partition so that when I log in, it's Mounted under /media/adam/ ..... :3 And yeah, I wanna be able to access it through either a Terminal or a File Manager..... :3 I also wanna automount it with rw enabled..... :3 The Desktop Environment I use under Manjaro is XFCE4, and no, I don't need an Icon..... I can make a Shell Script to cd to the appropriate Directories..... :3 Is that enough info, buddy.....? :3
     
  4. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    That's a good account, Blackie :)

    Can you give me the output, from your Manjaro, of

    Code:
    cat /etc/fstab
    and also that from Kali?

    Wiz
     
  5. CptCharis

    CptCharis Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2018
    Messages:
    244
    Likes Received:
    250
    If I understood well, this should be super interesting !!!
    Ok guys go ahead.
     
    blackneos940 and wizardfromoz like this.
  6. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    Haven't seen the OP for nearly 2 weeks, he may be away or something? @blackneos940 - where are youuu??

    @Scotsgeek may have an idea if he wishes to converse with me.

    For the benefit of Capta @CptCharis and The Viewers whom may be interested, I will go ahead soon and outline what I can say.

    Cheers for now

    Wizard
     
    blackneos940 likes this.
  7. blackneos940

    blackneos940 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    78
    Hey buddy!!..... :3 I is back!!..... :D Ready when you are!!..... :3
     
  8. blackneos940

    blackneos940 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    78
    I wanna know how too..... Next up: mounting ZFS under Linux's /etc/fstab File!!..... :3
     
  9. blackneos940

    blackneos940 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    78
    I had to wipe my Hard Drive again, so Manjaro and Kali are gone..... :< But I can assure you that fstab came stock..... :3
     
  10. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    On the drive mounting issue



    VIDEO 1 - INSTALLING AND USING GNOME DISK UTILITY AKA DISKS

    Gnome Disks ships installed with many Distros, or is in their Repositories.

    Once you have accomplished what is set out in the video, then a reboot is in order to see if it works.

    In the screenshot below, it shows my desktop from Peach OSI TW (The Works), an Ubuntu-based Distro, which is where I used Disks. Peach has Xfce as its DE, and Xfce likes to show removable drives, hence the clutter. There is a tweak to turn this off, but then it would not show my newly-mounted drives.

    [​IMG]

    SCREENSHOT 1 - PEACH DESKTOP WITH 2 AUTO-MOUNTED DISTRO PARTITIONS

    When I first performed this exercise a couple of weeks ago, the icons for Ubuntu's Bionic Beaver (18.04) MATE and Robolinux had the labels I had assigned to them, and shown in GParted.

    Yesterday, it gave them the UUIDs instead, which is OK if you have only one Distro to identify, but clumsy with more.

    At this time, my /etc/fstab , which had been modified by Disks, showed as below:

    Code:
    # <file system> <mount point> <type> <options> <dump> <pass>
    
    UUID=47ab1dde-3a48-40d5-bf97-050f6f1d13e8    /    ext4    errors=remount-ro    0    1
    UUID=024B-FCE8    /boot/efi    vfat    umask=0077    0    1
    /dev/disk/by-uuid/7da1f48f-4f30-4d7a-8d33-9904bca0649b /mnt/7da1f48f-4f30-4d7a-8d33-9904bca0649b auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
    /dev/disk/by-uuid/e2392e78-51d4-4b46-b3d1-84bf7f0053ff /mnt/e2392e78-51d4-4b46-b3d1-84bf7f0053ff auto nosuid,nodev,nofail,x-gvfs-show 0 0
    ... with the bottom 2 lines being the additions Disks added.

    I have since tweaked those lines so that my Distros now show as per the screenshot below.

    [​IMG]

    SCREENSHOT 2 - AUTOMOUNTED DRIVES NOW CAPTIONED TO IDENTIFY

    If you need to know how to do that, just sing out, or you may be content with the UUID.

    I hope that answers a part of the OP's question.

    In my next Post, I can talk about the partition and drive permissions, and if Adam lets me know he definitely wants it mounted under /media/adam ... we'll see what we can do :)

    Cheers all, and

    Enjoy your Linux

    Wizard
     
    CptCharis and blackneos940 like this.
  11. blackneos940

    blackneos940 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2017
    Messages:
    139
    Likes Received:
    78
    Hello, good sir!..... :3 Yeah, I want it Mounted under /media/adam/..... :3 I'll check out the Video, and thanks for the info!..... :3
     
  12. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,704
    Likes Received:
    1,776
    No worries Mate, I'll get cracking on it soon

    Wiz
     

Share This Page