Want Some Help

Is it good to use Linux in an old laptop

• Total voters

Dibyalok

Reaction score
Credits
It has been nearly 2 hours that I started browsing and learning about Linux. I am a complete novice when it comes to Linux. I just know a few basic things. I have an old HP 500 laptop running on Windows XP PROFESSIONAL it's specs are given in this link-

https://www.cnet.com/products/hp-50...in-xp-home-512-mb-ram-60-gb-hdd-series/specs/.

I want to know which distro might be good for it . I want to use it just for browsing, personalization and day to day office work.

I also wanted a guide to how to install distro as I don't know anything about it.

It would be a great help if anyone helps me.

Hi @Dibyalok, and welcome to the site! There is much to learn, and it will take time.... many things in Linux uses different terminology than Windows or Mac. So take your time, and ask more questions as you need to. Please look around on this site, and other places on the Internet, to learn all you can about Linux. There is no place that says "Start here".... so you just have to jump in and begin.

The specs on your laptop say it has 512 MB of RAM, but it can go up to 1 GB. Do you know if it has been upgraded to 1 GB yet? And if not, are you willing to upgrade it yourself? It is a pretty big difference between which Linux versions will run depending on the amount of RAM. If you don't want to spend any money on it, then we will do what we can to help you find something that will run on 512 MB.

A quick check on your CPU from the specs says that it is a 32-bit chip, so that will limit your choices in Linux too. For now there are still quite a few distros available in 32-bit, so the RAM is the more limiting factor.