Solved Switch now working

Solved issue

truckerDave

Reaction score
Credits
Well, I bought a tp-link TL-SG108E for my home network. And .... failed to write down the IP address after I changed it via the browser UI a week or so ago (yeah, my memory sucks). I've tried adjusting my client IP to every IP that I can think that I would have used ...
192.168.0.*
192.168.1.*
192.168.2.*
192.168.5.*
192.168.10.*

And still not able to figure out what IP this thing is set to. Unfortunately, I didn't think to verify (before purchase) if one was able to do a factory reset on this switch. As my luck would have it, this one does not have that ability. That is sort of a required item for me as I am new to all this and trying to learn as I go. Trust me. My teacher is not very smart on this stuff! :D

So, this tp-link switch is going to sit on the shelf til I figure out how to extract that info. I know it can be done. But I think it's a little over my head at this point.

Therefore, I am looking for an affordable VLAN aware switch with a minimum of 5 ports that CAN be factory reset with a button. Preferably with a built in UI. That way, when (not if) I screw up, I can reset and start over.

After you're done cleaning up that drink you just laughed out all over your monitor, let me know what you think.

Thanks all

According to comment in this thread:
"the default IP address of the switch is 192.168.0.1"

I'm using this, a managed switch.

According to comment in this thread:
"the default IP address of the switch is 192.168.0.1"
Yup. Tried that. Thing is, the default conflicts with my other hardware. So, it was changed by an idiot.

Did you back up the original settings as recommended in the Manuel?
The same idiot didn't do a back up either. And without being able to access the browser UI, said idiot couldn't restore a back up anyway.
I'm using this, a managed switch
Thank you! I'll have a look at that one.