Swapping out debian installer for a better more user friendly installer for a college distribution

arunnats

Reaction score
Credits
Hello,

This is my first time on these forums and working on big linux project in general. The gist of it is that we are trying to fork and modify debian to make our own distro with a very minimal number of packages and adding apps that freshmen in our college doing our course would require. The biggest hurdle so far is figuring out how to replace the installer to make it a lot more user friendly to install.

We are considering taking Ubuntus installer and modifying it or building one from scratch with a nice gui and simple options. I would really appreciate some pointers on how and where to get started. My linux knowledge is very low and i am a beginner at most things linux. This is a 6 person project where we are trying to learn some new things by building this distro based off debian.

I would appreciate any and all help

Welcome to the forums
Do you mean package managers for applications? If so, this article may give you some guidance to the common forms.

The biggest hurdle so far is figuring out how to replace the installer to make it a lot more user friendly to install.

What do you consider a more friendly installer?

Debian Live install uses the more friendly Calamares installer,

WattOS is called a Debian derivative, but it totally uses the Debian Repositories. It is more of a "customisation" (It it not EFI and will only make 2 partitions), It has few applications and uses Calamares

Similarly Spiral Linux is a customisation which uses Calamares.

Sorry not the package installer, the installation gui when you try to install the distro at the beginning

What do you consider a more friendly installer?

Debian Live install uses the more friendly Calamares installer,