Starting with GPU BIOS Flash with Linux

targaryen

Reaction score
Credits
Hi Sirs, I am willing to perform a BIOS mod in my AMD RX 5700 xt and in order to do that I got a Linux version of the flash utility.

If you could help me, I would like to know which distribution is best for flashing? Is it necessary a driver to flash?

I know programming but I am a beginner in Linux

Perhaps the Brick Wizard guide through this path and help me prevent to brick the card? Joking

Regards

Last edited:

Are you planing to use that gpu on linux?
Yes, the software that requires the GPU capabilities is Linux based

By the way, I got two sets of hardware available to boot up:

ryzen 5 5600x
asrock b550m

&&

intel i5 6500
asus maximus hero VIII

Since you have an AMD graphics card you can use the opensource drivers within the kernel in combination with mesa. The firmware is updated automatically when you do a system update if there is a a firmware update available because all the firmware is put into one package, linux-firmware.
Just read the introduction of that page, the rest can be ignored since the rest is Gentoo specific.

In theory, you should not need to flash the bios if you use the Kernel drivers for the RX range [which by the way with most distributions should automatically load when make your installation]
Which distribution are you thinking of using?

Actually I need to flash a modified BIOS into the RX in order to unlock some features of the GPU, since there are different distributions I would like to choose the most stable for that operation

since there are different distributions I would like to choose the most stable for that operation
All the established distributions have the same sort of stability

Bookmarked for later reference

Porteus or Puppy -- download iso, burn, boot to -- both inside 400MB. Load to RAM log in as root in Porteus (already root in any Puppy) 'toor' and do your thing with the command line -- is my suggestion for you latter concern.