SOLVED: Unable to access mysql database on server

truckerDave

Reaction score
Credits
THIS ENDED UP BEING A SIMPLE PERMISSIONS ISSUE.

First off. Total Linux noob here!

installed Ubuntu 22.04 (jammy)
Installed Apache/2.4.52 (Ubuntu)
Installed mysql Ver 8.0.35-0ubuntu0.22.04.1 for Linux
Installed php Version 8.1.2-1ubuntu2.14
Installed phpmyadmin 4:5.1.1+dfsg1-5ubuntu1

This morning I started my server from scratch with a fresh install as listed above.

I can access pages, such as the phpMyAdmin login, on the server from my Linux Mint PC. However, nothing I have tried over the last 2 weekends has allowed me to access the server database from my PC.

In no particular order .... what I have done/tried.

Added bind-address = 0.0.0.0 to the mysqld.cnf

In mysql ... Created a mysql user via: CREATE USER 'user_name'@'remote_server_ip' IDENTIFIED BY 'password';
In mysql ... Created another user via: CREATE USER 'sammy'@'remote_server_ip' IDENTIFIED WITH caching_sha2_password BY 'password';
In mysql ... Granted each GRANT ALL ON database.* TO 'user_name'@'remote_ip_address';
in mysql ... FLUSH PRIVILEGES;

Firewall ... ufw allow from remote_ip_address to any port 3306
Firewall ... ufw allow 3306

I know there are other things I've tried that I'm drawing a blank on at the moment. One was iptables, come to think of it. It changed nothing.

Each part (apache, mysql, php) seems to function just fine. I just keep getting the error : mysqli::real_connect(): (HY000/1045): Access denied for user 'user_name'@'localhost' (using password: YES)

"user_name@localhost" bugs me. But I'm assuming that's just the way the developers wrote the error announcement.

If I use a terminal on my PC ...... mysql -u user -h 192.168.254.19 -p .... I get ERROR 1045 (28000): Access denied for user 'user'@'dave-LM-15.home' (using password: YES)

Not sure why it says @dave-LM-15.home
I've not seen anything named quite like that. But what do I know?