(SOLVED) intel A380 GPU driver issue?

truckerDave

Reaction score
Credits
I, being new to the Linux life, didn't look to see if my GPU was usable on Linux. Unfortunately, I don't believe it is. Well, it is. But with very limited functionality as per a video by A1RMAX on YouTube. He claims he spent 30 hours trying to get it going to his satisfaction. To no avail.

The GPU in question is an ASRock Intel ARC A380. Not a great card by any stretch. But I felt it was good enough for my budget and needs.

Anyone care to suggest an alternative that will work without to much hassle on Mint? Or maybe you know a source that has figured out how to get this ASRock rolling?

I'm 54 and don't really do PC gaming. Main usage for this machine is internet and some graphics work (Gimp, etc). This particular build (ASRock motherboard, Intel CORE i3-13100F processor) needs a GPU.

Thanks in advance!
Dave

Last edited:

I'm no expert with the new breed of discrete Intel GPUs. But wouldn't the in-kernel Intel driver give usable functionality, in much the same way that 'nouveau' does for Nvidia, and 'radeon' does for AMD?

Come to that, I'm no kind of expert with Intel hardware, period. But I do know that Intel gear has always been very Linux-friendly.....

A-ha. Seems that Arc GPU support (including the A380) is now "baked-in" with the 6.0-series kernels:-

.....so, as long as you're running an up-to-date distro with a new-ish kernel, you should be laughing.

Mike. ;)

I'm no expert with the new breed of discrete Intel GPUs. But wouldn't the in-kernel Intel driver give usable functionality, in much the same way that 'nouveau' does for Nvidia, and 'radeon' does for AMD?

Come to that, I'm no kind of expert with Intel hardware, period. But I do know that Intel gear has always been very Linux-friendly.....

A-ha. Seems that Arc GPU support (including the A380) is now "baked-in" with the 6.0-series kernels:-