[solved] Enable DNS over TLS on Debian 11

OP
Terminal Velocity

Terminal Velocity

Active Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
304
Reaction score
199
Credits
2,178
Today I have no traffic in port 53, only with tcpdump -i any I see traffic, I will post that traffic:

Code:
16:39:13.308901 wwx582c80139263 In  IP 239.237.117.34.bc.googleusercontent.com.https > tard-82c7.56468: Flags [.], ack 2007647298, win 272, options [nop,nop,TS val 2877711785 ecr 1981960385,nop,nop,sack 1 {4294967258:1}], length 0
16:39:13.395207 wwx582c80139263 Out IP tard-82c7.47181 > dns9.quad9.net.domain: 12031+ PTR? 69.54.160.10.in-addr.arpa. (43)
16:39:13.588914 wwx582c80139263 In  IP dns9.quad9.net.domain > tard-82c7.47181: 12031 NXDomain* 0/1/0 (102)
16:39:13.589530 wwx582c80139263 Out IP tard-82c7.57806 > dns9.quad9.net.domain: 10373+ PTR? 239.237.117.34.in-addr.arpa. (45)
16:39:13.898928 wwx582c80139263 In  IP dns9.quad9.net.domain > tard-82c7.57806: 10373 1/0/0 PTR 239.237.117.34.bc.googleusercontent.com. (98)
16:39:13.899495 wwx582c80139263 Out IP tard-82c7.57561 > dns9.quad9.net.domain: 20460+ PTR? 9.9.9.9.in-addr.arpa. (38)
16:39:14.089383 wwx582c80139263 In  IP dns9.quad9.net.domain > tard-82c7.57561: 20460 1/0/0 PTR dns9.quad9.net. (66)

Since yesterday I edited the /etc/systemd/resolved.conf file like this:
Code:
$ cat /etc/systemd/resolved.conf
DNS=9.9.9.9
FallbackDNS=149.112.112.112
Domains=~.
DNSSEC=yes
DNSOverTLS=yes
#MulticastDNS=yes
#LLMNR=yes
#Cache=yes
#DNSStubListener=yes
#DNSStubListenerExtra=
#ReadEtcHosts=yes
#ResolveUnicastSingleLabel=no
 


f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
4,408
Credits
43,489
I will try it on a debian vm to see what happens for me.
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
4,408
Credits
43,489
I just tried it with the same dns settings and setup as you, having configured DNSOverTLS and when I do queries and view the traffic on 853 I see nothing but when I then view the traffic on 53 I do see dns traffc so seems Debian might need something extra configured. I will see if I have time later to figure it out.
 
OP
Terminal Velocity

Terminal Velocity

Active Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
304
Reaction score
199
Credits
2,178
I just tried it with the same dns settings and setup as you, having configured DNSOverTLS and when I do queries and view the traffic on 853 I see nothing but when I then view the traffic on 53 I do see dns traffc so seems Debian might need something extra configured. I will see if I have time later to figure it out.
Thank you man for checking it out
 

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
4,408
Credits
43,489
Can you also provide met with the output of the following?
Code:
systemctl list-unit-files | grep -i network
 
OP
Terminal Velocity

Terminal Velocity

Active Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
304
Reaction score
199
Credits
2,178
Code:
$ systemctl list-unit-files | grep -i network
networking.service                                                        enabled         enabled
NetworkManager-dispatcher.service                                         enabled         enabled
NetworkManager-wait-online.service                                        enabled         enabled
NetworkManager.service                                                    enabled         enabled
systemd-network-generator.service                                         disabled        disabled
systemd-networkd-wait-online.service                                      disabled        disabled
systemd-networkd.service                                                  disabled        enabled
systemd-networkd.socket                                                   disabled        enabled
network-online.target                                                     static          -
network-pre.target                                                        static          -
network.target                                                            static          -
 

craigevil

Well-Known Member
Joined
Feb 24, 2021
Messages
419
Reaction score
419
Credits
2,889
Add these two lines :
DNSOverTLS=yes
DNSSEC=allow-downgrade

to your /etc/systemd/resolved.conf along with whichever dns server you want to use.
Restart the service. Then you can check that it is working:
Code:
resolvectl status

On Firefox edit the trr lines. You can just use the default or edit the custom line.
You can also change network.trr.mode to 2 so Firefox always uses the custom dns server.

quad9 has a easy to follow article; it does assume you have your DNS server setup)
 
Last edited:

f33dm3bits

Gold Member
Gold Supporter
Joined
Dec 11, 2019
Messages
5,917
Reaction score
4,408
Credits
43,489
OP
Terminal Velocity

Terminal Velocity

Active Member
Joined
Oct 13, 2021
Messages
304
Reaction score
199
Credits
2,178
Finally it worked

I edited my /etc/resolv.conf like this:
Code:
# Generated by NetworkManager
nameserver 127.0.0.53
127.0.0.53 is a loopback address that needed for systemd resolved service to work

I also edited my /etc/systemd/resolved.conf like this:
Code:
$ cat /etc/systemd/resolved.conf
DNS=9.9.9.9#dns.quad9.net
FallbackDNS=149.112.112.112
Domains=~.
DNSSEC=yes
DNSSEC=allow-downgrade
DNSOverTLS=yes
#MulticastDNS=yes
#LLMNR=yes
#Cache=yes
#DNSStubListener=yes
#DNSStubListenerExtra=
#ReadEtcHosts=yes
#ResolveUnicastSingleLabel=no

And I disabled the DNS over HTTPS from the browser and now I have traffic in port 853, thank you all for the help
 
Last edited:
MALIBAL Linux Laptops

Linux Laptops Custom Built for You
MALIBAL is an innovative computer manufacturer that produces high-performance, custom laptops for Linux.

For more info, visit: https://www.malibal.com

Members online


Top