Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

Slow Hard drive.... unable to reach BIOS

Discussion in 'General Linux' started by Christina, Jul 7, 2018.

  1. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Should I do this before or after reinstall? Sounds like you and my son had a lot in common computer wise lol....


     
  2. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Hi, you can do it before, because if they report problems, then a reinstall might be futile.

    I hope that's where it ends, lol - I have 8 mental disorders, wouldn't wish that on him :rolleyes:

    Cheers

    Wiz
     
  3. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Lol, he already had them..... you probably wouldn't have given anything new haha. Thanks for the help. Will let you all know how it goes when I have the time to spend on it!
     
    wizardfromoz likes this.
  4. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52

    Ok, I can't find Synaptic package manager.......
     
  5. arochester

    arochester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    308
    What happens if you type into a Terminal
    Code:
    sudo synaptic
    ?
     
  6. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    [email protected]:~$ sudo synaptic
    [sudo] password for christina:
    sudo: synaptic: command not found
    [email protected]:~$
     
  7. arochester

    arochester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    308
    You can install Synaptic with the command
    Code:
    sudo apt install synaptic
     
  8. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Done, but it looks like something is missing? And I have run the autoremove to no avail....

    Screenshot from 2018-07-15 14-53-00.png
     
  9. arochester

    arochester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    308
    It looks Ok. Go back and try
    Code:
    sudo synaptic
    If you look you have packages which are no longer in use. You can run
    Code:
    sudo apt autoremove
     
  10. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Ok, don't know how to read this to know what result to type in..... Screenshot from 2018-07-15 15-15-31.png Screenshot from 2018-07-15 15-16-38.png
     
  11. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    [email protected]:~$ sudo synaptic
    Another synaptic is running. Trying to bring it to the foreground
    [email protected]:~$
     
  12. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    [email protected]:~$ sudo apt autoremove
    E: Could not get lock /var/lib/dpkg/lock - open (11: Resource temporarily unavailable)
    E: Unable to lock the administration directory (/var/lib/dpkg/), is another process using it?
    [email protected]:~$
     
  13. arochester

    arochester Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2017
    Messages:
    203
    Likes Received:
    308
    It all works on one database, so you can only use one thing at a time.

    dpkg, apt, apt-get, aptitude, synaptic...

    So close everything down. Nothing working. Open One Terminal only with
    Code:
    sudo synaptic
    What happens now?
     
  14. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    It opens synaptic pkg manager
     
  15. Hi
    Have you tried sudo su which gives you access to the root and then doing the above ? Just a thought I know that sometimes you need to be a super user to change things
     
  16. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Opens synaptic pkg manager
     
  17. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Hmmm, you probably meant for me to run the autoremove lol. It is working, doing this:

    Screenshot from 2018-07-15 16-53-14.png
     
  18. Christina

    Christina Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2017
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    52
    Ok, with the autoremove run I was going to restart to see what happens but when I go to close terminal I get this:
    There is still a process running in this terminal. Closing the terminal will kill it.

    Why? I assume it is finished as I got a command line. Or is it because I am in root?

    Screenshot from 2018-07-15 17-36-23.png
     
  19. No I thought it might change things for you to enable you to do things above which you were trying to do. I have used it when I could not do things in the past and found by doing so I was able to do them: I have included this explanation for you on. If you use it and then after your password use whatever you are trying to do it will do it. I thought this might end the clog you were getting https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Su_(Unix)
     
    Christina likes this.
  20. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    1,340
    Likes Received:
    1,528
    Hi Christina

    /dev/sda1 is where your Linux (small r) root system is. That is, your operating system files.

    So now you can type in and enter

    ... a modification of what I mentioned earlier.

    Cheers

    Chris
     

Share This Page