MX Linux - Keyboard malfunction

kurp

Reaction score
Credits
After latest updates my keyboard is not responding well. Key like back space, letter d, enter not responding. This is happening for the past 2weeks after latest updates. I have Asus Tuf laptop.

Any help greatly appreciated

G'day kurp, Welcome to Linux.org

Do you have Timeshift set up ? Simply restore to a snapshot taken before the updates took place

No, but I still would like to hold on to latest updates. It feels like linux GRAB is screwing it as on the login screen I see the problem...

You just lost me...I have no experience of an app called grab

Is this a screengrab?...or something to grab video data ?...etc

Is it possible that deleting this app will make the problem go away?

After latest updates my keyboard is not responding well. Key like back space, letter d, enter not responding. This is happening for the past 2weeks after latest updates. I have Asus Tuf laptop.

Any help greatly appreciated
Check the defaults:
Code:
cat /etc/default/keyboard

As it says, "Consult the keyboard manpage" if you need to alter details.

Perhaps try to reconfigure the keyboard, as root:
Code:
dpkg-reconfigure keyboard-configuration

Last edited:
Asus laptop is correct configuration:

$ cat /etc/default/keyboard
# KEYBOARD CONFIGURATION FILE

# Consult the keyboard(5) manual page.

XKBMODEL="asus_laptop"
XKBLAYOUT="us"
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS=""

BACKSPACE="guess"

Asus laptop is correct configuration:

$ cat /etc/default/keyboard
# KEYBOARD CONFIGURATION FILE

# Consult the keyboard(5) manual page.

XKBMODEL="asus_laptop"
XKBLAYOUT="us"
XKBVARIANT=""
XKBOPTIONS=""

BACKSPACE="guess"
You could alter XKBMODEL="asus_laptop", to: XKBMODEL="pc105", since pc105 is the default on so many machines, and basically works with nearly all hardware. After altering it, perhaps reboot to ensure the config is registered. If it makes no difference, it's entirely reversible.

Sorry I meant grub.