Linux Decision

C

CityGirlLuv

I'm use to Windows; however, I want to use Linux so badly! It seems fun to work with and the designs I've seen people create on it are pretty neat. My question is this: I'm a TOTAL beginner when it comes to Linux...if you had the option, would you dual boot Windows and Linux or just get rid of Windows and install Linux?

Linux is a great OS but takes a bit to get used to. Linux also lacks many of the programs available on windows (although there are great replacements), so if you rely heavily on your PC or any particular program and/or you are completely new to Linux I would recommend Dual-booting for now.

Dual-booting allows you to retain usability of your computer while gives you a chance to become acquainted with Linux, It also gives you a chance to copy any files you might want. When you feel confident enough you could always just delete the windows partition and continue with Linux.

Awesome. I think dual booting is more likely going to be my best bet since as I stated before, I am a total noob when it comes to using Linux. I think I would even stay on keeping it as a dual boot due to the fact that among my research, some of the Window programs that I use don't have a Linux alternative to them.

Yes. Dual boot its the smarter choice. Yo can begin with a simple exercise, try to see your windows files on linux. It is a good start to begin understand the OS. Hope helps.

Yes. Dual boot its the smarter choice. Yo can begin with a simple exercise, try to see your windows files on linux. It is a good start to begin understand the OS. Hope helps.

It really helped a lot and I'll keep this in mind as the first thing to do when I get it all setup.

When it's the first time that you use Linux, always keep your options open with dual boot.