Installing and or using Thunderbird

JohnJ

Reaction score
Credits
Hello there. I am a complete newbie to Linux and Linux Mint. I have just installed Linux Mint onto my laptop and had a little (very little) fiddle. I would like to use Thunderbird and I see that a version of Thunderbird has already been installed onto my Mint. I had a look in Software manage and it appears that there are two versions of Thunderbird available - one that is already installed and another that asks me to install something called Thunderbird 'Flatpak (Flathub)'. Do I need to install this Flatpak version or can I just use the installed Thunderbird version? Is one 'better' than the other?
Thank you

G'day John, Welcome to Linux.org

I use Linux mint 21.3 (LM21.3) and I also use Thunderbird

When installing software, I usually use flatpaks simply because they include all the necessary dependencies. Their downloads are slightly bigger, but they operate flawlessly.

However, in the case of Thunderbird, I did not use the flatpak. I have no idea why I didn't, or probably it was the non flatpak version that came installed when I upgraded to LM21.3.

I can vouch for the one that is already installed. Updates come via the update manager. No problems whatsoever.

If on the other hand, you want to go with the flatpak, I am equally sure you will have zero problems. Updates occur in the same way.

If you click on menu...type in Thunderbird....right click on thunderbird and select 'add to panel'...it will place the t'bird icon in the panel for you....so to open t;bird in the future it just takes a single click on that icon.

WHich email provider are you using?....you will need your password for your email account to set t'bird up

T'bird will usually find your email details on the pc if it has been installed on it prior to now.

If you need a hand....just call out.

Just a heads up....antivirus and/or anti malware etc etc is not necessary in Linux Mint.