I need a new distro!

B

bonewits

I've been using computers since 1984. I've used PCM, DOS1.0 thru Win10. I've used CICS, PuppyLinux, Kenoppix, Slax, Mandrake, and now Ubuntu since 2014-07-30. It has crashed windows style twice and I promised myself there isn't gunna be a third.

I'm lazy and don't wanna have to screw around with "configurations." At my age this stuff should be easy. Don't get me wrong here; I like playing around with my info & data. I use Conky for multiple things. I'm not afraid of compiz. I just want a stable os that can take a bit of pounding. A decent browser wouldn't be bad either :)

I suppose it wouldn't hurt to have some physical attributes here;
HP Pavilion g7 - 2269wm
AMD Quad-Core A8-4500M Accelerated Processor
17.3" diagonal HD+ BrightView LED Display
Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity [Radeon HD 7640G]
Advanced Micro Devices, Inc. [AMD/ATI] Trinity HDMI Audio Controller
Qualcomm Atheros AR9485 Wireless Network Adapter (rev 01)
500 GB HDD
DVD A DS8A9SH ~ already toast, using an Asus external DVD/CD
6144 MB DDR3 SDRAM
DVD Optical Drive
since 20140730-22:58 ~ Ubuntu 14.04.3 LTS Trusty Tahr
Kernal 3.13.0.88-generic x86_64 ext4

Apps onboard, used often and many times concurrently;
Audacity, HandBrake, Transmission BitTorrent, Bluefish, Gedit, CompizCofig Settings Manager, Conky, gimp, hTop, Libre suite, Wine and others :)

IDK: is this stuff just too much for my box? Or will a new distro help?

So, I'm asking for suggestions. Why you would use it? How it is currently in use by others? Why would I want to use it?

Last edited: