I cannot open most applications

eoghan

Reaction score
Credits
I cannot open most applications, for example the Skype application. It says 'file type ApplImage application bundle is not supported'. What's the story? Sorry - I'm not a techie.......

G'day eoghan, Welcome to Linux.org

Some detail would be nice

Make and model of pc

Which Linux?....version?....how are you installing these apps? What steps have you taken to rectify this problem?...etc

Detail please.

ps You could edit your title....it is missing the word "OPEN"

oops - non techies must be so annoying. Eh - not sure what kind of Linux. Trisquel Mate? how do i find out?

NAME="Trisquel GNU/Linux"
VERSION="9.0, Etiona"
ID=trisquel
ID_LIKE=debian
PRETTY_NAME="Trisquel GNU/Linux Etiona (9.0)"

Go to where you have downloaded the appimage and right click on it select properties then the permissions tab make sure the box allow executing file as a program is checked.
then try again.

Hi kc1di

Thanks for your help! I've got one step further but it says 'cannot download all required files. Make sure APT cache is up to date. I've put 'how to update APT cache into the search but nothing helps .....Any ideas? (I love my Linux - a friend installed it but he's mad busy with family and stuff- but iLinuxes can be tricky at times)

Trisquel is based on Ubuntu, did you install Skype for linux from the Ubuntu repository, [it should have installed all the necessary dependencies ]

Hi Brickwizard

the options in Skype say Linux SNAP, RPM and DEB???!!!

open menu, go to software manage, type in the search box Skype, it should find the ubuntu linux version that you can install, [if it dose you will have to remove your existing download]

You should find a file skypeforlinux install that and you should be set to go
You can install it from a terminal also by issuing these commnands.
Code:
sudo apt update
sudo apt install skypeforlinux