HP Server raid 10 volume check/repair volume Cent OS

gazchap

Reaction score
Credits
Hi guys, new to the forums so thanks and hello to al! We have a clients HP server configured with a RAID 10 running Cent OS and KVM hypervisor. One of the disks in the RAID failed and this appears to have caused corruption of sda lvm. Tried to replace the failed drive but the raid fails to rebuild and the server just slows to a snail's pace. Booted from a Ubuntu live USB overnight and attempted to repair the raid volume but it shows as being active. Used Gparted to deactivate the volume in the hope to run a check/repair, but the volume appears to auto mount and cant be unmounted/deactivated. I have some Linux experience but am by no means a server expert, wondering if anyone can provide some guidance on how to check and repair the raid volume file system. Much appreciated, Gazz.

1705977089627.png

Can you give output of fdisk -l
Do you know if this is a software RAID or a hardware RAID?

If it's hardware, can you give the output of...
lspci -vv | grep -i raid

If it's it's software, it's a little tricker. You use mdadm, but you have to know the disk device name.
What is the output of ...
mdadm --detail --scan
and
cat /proc/mdstat

This will output something similar to ...
ARRAY /dev/md/myarray metadat=1.2 name=hostname:array UUID=xxxxxxxxxxx
Your output will likely be slightly different, but that's the line you're looking for.

Once you find the device path/name then you run this command.
mdadm --query /dev/md/myarray

The "myarray" was based on the output of the previous command. You need to use whatever your device name is.

If it's hardware, it's usually just as simple as replacing the disk. HP does have some "remove disk from array" and "add disk to array" options in the BIOS/UEFI. But you might not be able to get there if you can't take the machine down.