HP 14dq2xxx reboot to back screen?

FishOn!

Reaction score
Credits
Good morning,

I have been fighting with an issue for several months in regards to a reboot issue on my HP 14-dq2xxx laptop currently with Debian 12. This was an upgrade from Debian 11 where I had this issue.

“My laptop boots to a black screen with cursor in starting position after a reboot. However does not do this when system is shut down. ”

The difference here is that an actual shut down and immediate power up does not manifest this issue and goes straight into my desktop. Several tests repeated over a 5 minute period do not produce issues.

When I perform a reboot and just after encryption entry screen has accepted my password, Alt+control+f2 does produce a kernel login screen which tells me that /boot is mounted and it is this systems desktop environment that is a problem. I also had a wifi issue but last night I installed a new driver and giving that some time to call that remediated. I don’t believe that is causing issues.

Would you all agree? What diagnostic commands can I issue to have you all help assist me with this issue?

Thank you in advance.

*I am a software engineer with several years experience in windows server operating systems, but my Linux experience is very rusty. Having to stand up my own systems to use and retrain myself to keep up my skills.

I can't tell you "why" or if you found a fix. However, I'm running Mint and about 1 in 10 reboots brings me to that same black screen with the curser blinking in the upper left corner. It is annoying.

I can't tell you "why" or if you found a fix. However, I'm running Mint and about 1 in 10 reboots brings me to that same black screen with the curser blinking in the upper left corner. It is annoying.
I agree, it is an annoying issue. I did have another question in my original post however. As being someone who replied to my thread, do you have anything that you have done thus far to try and diagnose this issue? Any lessons learned?