Hello to all and have a question "Oh Gee"

W

whosit

Hello I'm a Newbie. Looks like a very good site. Have been doing a lot of reading but I have a question.... oh gee.... first some background, I first got started with Linux, dated Jan 20, 2003.. in early 2003 or 2004, played around with them for several years. Had some real problems with Linux, we just were not getting along. I'm back to Linux and there are so many to choose from, Linux has done some real changes. Since I do not have a decent internet band width, I have purchased several DVD's from a supplier (don't know if I can mention business names) Now for the question? With all the changes that have taken place over the years is it possible that there is a USB Drive (flash, thumb type) that has a Linux OS on it that plugs in and can be operated as a drive..... My thought is a larger drive would permit saving files and I could use it for a while. I could use anyone's machine to operate MY operating system. Just plugin and play??? on any machine. I'm not looking for a flash drive OS in a .iso file. whosit

There are basically three types of flash drive installation
1) Normal. This is just a LiveCD on a flash drive. When the computer is switched off everything "saved" is lost.
2) With Persistence. Here you create a partition on the flash drive. You can download XYZ to that partition. When the computer is switched off XYZ will stay on the partition. It does not keep changes to the configuration.
3) Full install. This does what it says. It will keep changes to configuration. Whether this is possible depends on what distro you choose. Look at e.g.
http://sparkylinux.org/sparkylinux-full-usb-stick-installation/
and
http://www.tuxradar.com/content/how-install-linux-usb-flash-drive

The place to get information used to be http://www.pendrivelinux.com/ but it seems to have got a bit stale.