Finding install on multi-partitioned drive to backup (Timeshift)

zPuppy

Reaction score
Credits
Hiya peeps

I have installed zorin os on my 1TB drive, which previously had windows, ubuntu, and a few other failed zorin installs. The drive looks like this GParted image below...

20221222_133839.jpg

So, looking at the GParted sandwich above I know that windows is the mouldy stale bread (sda2 and sda4) and the filling in the middle is the various flavours of linux, one of which is my current zorin os install. I want to throw out the bloaty carbohydrate windows bread for good, however I really need to do a Timeshift backup of my zorin os first yet I cannot figure out if the live version (and maybe boot file) is on /dev/sda 5,6,7,8,or 9.

Any advice greatly appreciated. I am a Linux Newbie-ish, but can follow technical advice.

The root for zorin OS most likely either sda5 or sda7 or sda9. And sda9 is labeled as a root.
In Linux,
Code:
inxi -F
will get the info you desire.

If using windows, I cannot say.

Thanks forester, top advice. here is the drive output from terminal;

Drives:
Local Storage: total: 931.51 GiB used: 10.18 GiB (1.1%)
ID-1: /dev/sda vendor: Western Digital model: WD10EADS-22M2B0
size: 931.51 GiB
Partition:
ID-1: / size: 15.62 GiB used: 10.18 GiB (65.2%) fs: ext4 dev: /dev/sda9

This is the only partition information displayed, so presumably my Timeshift backup should be /sda9?
I am glad I checked as the Timeshift prompt selected /sda5 to backup.

Cheers

@zPuppy -- using a LiveCD or Live USB (i.e. ubuntu or puppy) to boot to for exploring partitions is another alterntive. You will want to make certain before deleting any partition.

G'day @zPuppy and welcome to linux.org :)

1. What version of Windows is running?
2. Did you install Timeshift from Zorin's Store or from elsewhere, and do you remember when?

I am glad I checked as the Timeshift prompt selected /sda5 to backup.