Purchase Linux CDs / DVDs / Flash Drives at OSDisc.com

Welcome to Our Community

While Linux.org has been around for a while, we recently changed management and had to purge most of the content (including users). If you signed up before April 23rd, 2017 please sign up again. Thanks!

  1. More ways to get the info! - we shoot all of our new original content out as well as random messages on Twitter and our newsletter!. Twitter | Newsletter
    Dismiss Notice

Failed to start Raise network interfaces

Discussion in 'Getting Started' started by Sergio Rodriguez, Mar 14, 2019.

  1. Sergio Rodriguez

    Sergio Rodriguez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    I recently installed Debian and I'm getting the following message at startup:


    (Log in to hide this advertisement)


    Code:
    [FAILED] Failed to start Raise network interfaces.
    See 'systemctl status networking.service' for details.
    I run that command and I got the following message:

    Code:
    ● networking.service - Raise network interfaces
       Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/networking.service; enabled; vendor pres$
       Active: failed (Result: exit-code) since Wed 2019-03-13 21:13:05 -05; 10min $
         Docs: man:interfaces(5)
      Process: 386 ExecStart=/sbin/ifup -a --read-environment (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
      Process: 379 ExecStartPre=/bin/sh -c [ "$CONFIGURE_INTERFACES" != "no" ] && [ -n "$(ifquery --read-environment --list --exclude=lo)" ] && udevadm $evadm se
     Main PID: 386 (code=exited, status=1/FAILURE)
    
    My Wi-Fi connection is working, but I want to understand this error and how to fix it
     
  2. Peer

    Peer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    162
    I also get this message.
     
    Sergio Rodriguez likes this.
  3. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,993
    Likes Received:
    2,354
    I have some input for this Thread

    (Wizard appears in a puff of smoke)

    ... but I want to run a couple of experiments first, and then put together some information that is cohesive and factual. Might take me a couple of days.

    Can I ask of both of you whether your wifi is actually working (ie the error is non-fatal) or not, on your Debians?

    Cheers

    Chris Turner
    wizardfromoz
     
    Sergio Rodriguez and Peer like this.
  4. Peer

    Peer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    162
    Wifi works.
     
  5. Condobloke

    Condobloke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    771
    wifi works....happy for you Peer.
    Why does it work now ?
    (or did I misunderstand ??) o_O
     
  6. Peer

    Peer Active Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2018
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    162
  7. Condobloke

    Condobloke Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    771
    obviously I misunderstood !!....ignore my previous post
     
  8. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,993
    Likes Received:
    2,354
    No, Brian - that's OK and understandable ... Peer is likely running with "noquiet nosplash" in his /etc/default/grub (as I do) or else, Debian is displaying some of its startup output as it heads to login screen.

    The warning he is receiving is likely the same as one I was receiving on my old Toshiba Satellite, it was non-fatal and wifi still works on it. I will explain more when I have put it together.

    Cheers

    Wizard
     
    Sergio Rodriguez likes this.
  9. Sergio Rodriguez

    Sergio Rodriguez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yes @wizardfromoz , as @Peer my WiFi is working.

    Thank you in advance for your help!
     
  10. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,993
    Likes Received:
    2,354
    Ta (pronounced "tar", Aussie and English for thanks), Sergio :)

    I'll try to make some time this weekend to look into this further, I am interested, myself.

    Cheers

    Wizard
     
    Sergio Rodriguez likes this.
  11. Sergio Rodriguez

    Sergio Rodriguez New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2019
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    3
    I found a solution here, @wizardfromoz and @Peer

    I don't understand the logical of it but worked.

    Now, the result of "systemctl status networking.service" is this:

    Code:
    ● networking.service - Raise network interfaces
       Loaded: loaded (/lib/systemd/system/networking.service; enabled; vendor prese
       Active: active (exited) since Sat 2019-04-06 21:35:18 -05; 17min ago
         Docs: man:interfaces(5)
      Process: 419 ExecStart=/sbin/ifup -a --read-environment (code=exited, status=0
      Process: 415 ExecStartPre=/bin/sh -c [ "$CONFIGURE_INTERFACES" != "no" ] && [
     Main PID: 419 (code=exited, status=0/SUCCESS)
        Tasks: 0 (limit: 4915)
       CGroup: /system.slice/networking.service
     
    #11 Sergio Rodriguez, Apr 7, 2019
    Last edited: Apr 7, 2019
    Vrai and Peer like this.
  12. wizardfromoz

    wizardfromoz Super Moderator
    Staff Member Gold Supporter

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2017
    Messages:
    2,993
    Likes Received:
    2,354
    Hey, that's great, Sergio, well done and "Ta" for sharing :)

    I have bookmarked that reference and will take a closer look at it. It may also help me with some problems I have with Debian.

    Enjoy your Linux

    Wizard
     
    Peer and Sergio Rodriguez like this.

Share This Page